22 Reviews

Finally, a bread recipe that even I couldn't screw up. I halved the recipe, started with 1 cup of bread flour and added 1/2 cup at a time until it got to a texture that I liked. I also used vegetable oil on my hands and on the board instead of using more flour, that way I knew I wouldn't be adding more flour to the mix. I baked the bread for about 18 minutes, turning once for even browning on all loaves.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morrison June 16, 2009

This recipe AS IS is not a good sub roll at all, it is way too salty and too dense. If I make these again I will try half the salt, but I wonder if this is a misprint and it is supposed to be 2tsp NOT 2 Tbsp?! I might try these again with this amount and see if it helps, they will be less salty for sure, but also will rise better and be a lighter roll.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlanzone December 08, 2012

This is my new sub recipe! Soft dough with a bit of crust but not too much. I did halve the recipe and only used one teaspoon of salt as I think like others that the tablespoon is a typo.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nuclearvoodoo November 01, 2012

My review more closely matches mlanzone's review. Once baked the bread itself was more closely resembling a biscuit in texture and density and yes, very salty. I'm not sure how any of the 5 star reviewers turned out the same product and ended up with a 5 star bread. There must have been some broad differences in technique regarding how the dough was worked and turned out. There seem to be some indications that different flours were used. I'd like to compare notes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hardtopickname December 28, 2013

I've made these five times this month. Although I love sugar - it is serious business. I have modified the recipe and this is our favorite so far:
1/4 Cup Sugar: I poured 1 tsp of granulated white and 1 tsp dark brown sugars into a 1/4 cupper and then filled the rest with Date Sugar.
2 Cups of water: 1 Cup of warm water plus 1 Cup warm whole milk.
I added: 1 tsp. Maca Root Powder and 1 tsp. of Gluten Protein Powder.
I baked on a round cast iron lid - two handle.
I divided the dough into four equal loafs.
I baked three together which yielded beautiful high rise loafs and then experimented with the fourth loaf by baking it on a bed of veggies and grease drippings (Bison Sausage breakfast sausage drippings).
When they're done baking I brush all surfaces with a thin coat of Sunflower Oil and immediately bake at 350F for 1.5 minutes.
These are excellent loaves to freeze for french toast mornings. The Date Sugar is very complex and always curls my mind - the Gluten Protein gives a little extra stretch and lift within the bread and the Maca is , well an amazing secret. Everyone should be looking at buying some Maca Root Powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trainlinezoo January 11, 2012

These were really good. My family loved them. I made meatball subs out of them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
famli4mary May 25, 2011

turned out wonderful only used 1 tablespoon salt, next time will probably just make half makes alot. is now my favorite bun recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RPJS002hsif December 12, 2009

These were great! I subbed 2 cups wheat flour. They came out perfect for my roast beef sandwiches. Thanks Wildflower.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Christi D March 28, 2009

This is a perfect sub roll recipe!! I halved it with no issue, using 1tsp of salt. I let my Kitchenaid mixer do all of the kneading. The dough rose nicely and I ended up with 4 beautiful sub rolls to use to make grinders for dinner last night. I regret now not making the whole recipe because me and the family want an encore tonight. Edit: I've made this recipe at least a half dozen times so far, it has become my go-to grinder/sub roll recipe. Perfect every time!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy May 03, 2016

This is the best bun recipe.My submarine turned out great.But Use less salt than 2 tablespoons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dunali Kalpana R. February 27, 2016
My Favorite Sub (Hoagie) Rolls