Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Favorite Sub (Hoagie) Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Favorite Sub (Hoagie) Rolls

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2009

      Finally, a bread recipe that even I couldn't screw up. I halved the recipe, started with 1 cup of bread flour and added 1/2 cup at a time until it got to a texture that I liked. I also used vegetable oil on my hands and on the board instead of using more flour, that way I knew I wouldn't be adding more flour to the mix. I baked the bread for about 18 minutes, turning once for even browning on all loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      This recipe AS IS is not a good sub roll at all, it is way too salty and too dense. If I make these again I will try half the salt, but I wonder if this is a misprint and it is supposed to be 2tsp NOT 2 Tbsp?! I might try these again with this amount and see if it helps, they will be less salty for sure, but also will rise better and be a lighter roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      This is my new sub recipe! Soft dough with a bit of crust but not too much. I did halve the recipe and only used one teaspoon of salt as I think like others that the tablespoon is a typo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      I've made these five times this month. Although I love sugar - it is serious business. I have modified the recipe and this is our favorite so far:
      1/4 Cup Sugar: I poured 1 tsp of granulated white and 1 tsp dark brown sugars into a 1/4 cupper and then filled the rest with Date Sugar.
      2 Cups of water: 1 Cup of warm water plus 1 Cup warm whole milk.
      I added: 1 tsp. Maca Root Powder and 1 tsp. of Gluten Protein Powder.
      I baked on a round cast iron lid - two handle.
      I divided the dough into four equal loafs.
      I baked three together which yielded beautiful high rise loafs and then experimented with the fourth loaf by baking it on a bed of veggies and grease drippings (Bison Sausage breakfast sausage drippings).
      When they're done baking I brush all surfaces with a thin coat of Sunflower Oil and immediately bake at 350F for 1.5 minutes.
      These are excellent loaves to freeze for french toast mornings. The Date Sugar is very complex and always curls my mind - the Gluten Protein gives a little extra stretch and lift within the bread and the Maca is , well an amazing secret. Everyone should be looking at buying some Maca Root Powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      These were really good. My family loved them. I made meatball subs out of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      turned out wonderful only used 1 tablespoon salt, next time will probably just make half makes alot. is now my favorite bun recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      These were great! I subbed 2 cups wheat flour. They came out perfect for my roast beef sandwiches. Thanks Wildflower.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      These turned out amazing! I made 6 hoagies and the rest buns/rolls! Excellent recipe! I used garlic salt instead of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      My review more closely matches mlanzone's review. Once baked the bread itself was more closely resembling a biscuit in texture and density and yes, very salty. I'm not sure how any of the 5 star reviewers turned out the same product and ended up with a 5 star bread. There must have been some broad differences in technique regarding how the dough was worked and turned out. There seem to be some indications that different flours were used. I'd like to compare notes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      Love the rigor of bread baking. Maybe I'm a 'gluten' for punishment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Because I live at a high altitude, I often find baking to be frustrating. However, this recipe rocks! I do recommend adding more flour for high alt. baking and I only needed to bake mine for 15 min. I also recommend making sure your bread is in a warm spot (i put mine right in front of the fireplace) while rising and to make sure bread doubles, even if it takes longer than recommended 40 min., to ensure that it comes out light and fluffy, not dense. Once baked, make sure to toss them in the oven to crisp them up before using too. The crust is great for holding in sauces (see meatball sub pictured). Also, I made round hoagie buns for other types of sandwiches and found these wonderful too! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      Ooo, so good. Made some changes to suit my proclivity for experimentation. Used mostly bread flour but replaced some of that with hi-maize and coconut flours. Also added an ounce of baker's dry milk, replaced some of the sugar with diastatic malt powder, and used half olive oil, half butter. Despite my mucking about, they still turned out great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Just made these tonight. Great recipe! I used 1/2 white bread flour, and 1/2 whole wheat flour. They turned out soft and delicious!! I got 10 rolls out of the recipe. I agree the salt is too much. I will just halve that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      What a wonderful and easy recipe! These are awesome! Went well with our cheesesteaks! :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      These are terrific, I used only 1 teaspoon of salt as I used salted butter. I also cut the size to 3.5 ounces and made the rolls about 4 inches long and they are soft and delicious, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I tried this recipe last night. I agree with the comment that there is too much salt in the recipe. It could easily be cut in half, maybe author meant tsp. I ended up with a hoagie that looked great and tasted like a soft pretzel. I dont know if it was the cold weather but the dough took about 2 hours to double the first time and then when formed they got a little bigger but not even close to double. Because of this they were denser than I wanted. Next time I will proof in 125* oven with some water in the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      These we so good, I can't believe it. I only needed about 2 1/2 cups of bread flour (I cut the recipe in half) and they were tender and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Considering I'm a bread baking novice, these came out really well. The only thing is, they are a bit salty, but definitely still edible...next time I would use only 1/2 the salt in the recipe. Other than that, I look forward to making these again in hopes of improving even further!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      OMG, I could kiss you for this recipe. I have never been able to make that 'perfect' bread before...but this was it! The texture was amazing, the taste was delicious. I halved the recipe, and the boys and DH at all the bread in one sitting (I couldn't keep them out of it!). Made for meatball subs, then they made dessert out of it with a little butter and honey. This has been decreed the new standard in our home. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Favorite Sub (Hoagie) Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    11%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 896.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites