30 Reviews

This is fantastic! Appreciate your sharing it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
819779 May 19, 2009

This is the best oriental coleslaw recipe out there. I prefer to make it even easier by leaving out the sunflower seeds and water chestnuts. Keep in mind that the crushed Ramen noodles get soft after a couple of hours so eat it up the first day and it'll be better than having leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XAnnette July 07, 2008

YUM! I didn't have any sunflower seeds, so I left those out, and I threw in some baby corn because it was in the fridge and I needed to use it, and this was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 January 10, 2008

This has to be one of the best, if not the best coleslaw recipe around. I could eat the entire bowl! I had this at a Christmas party, and it was absolutely delicious with all of the savory flavors, and the crunchiness of the sunflower seeds. My colleague who made this also put toasted almonds. This recipe is one that I plan to make again and again. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock December 18, 2007

Wonderful, I had my Mother over for dinner and she said it was the best Coleslaw she had ever eaten!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ven-Jor Mom August 24, 2007

Since I am looking this up to make it for about the 40th time, I thought it was about time that I reviewed this. Everytime I make it, I get asked for the recipe. No leftovers, ever! What I particularly like is the sunflower seeds, which gives the nutty crunch, but makes the salad edible to people with nut and peanut allergies. Great party favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaarina November 10, 2006

I gave this recipe 4 stars in hopes that people would try it; I do, however, hope they read reviews (as I do!). I made this recipe 2 different ways and here are my findings... as listed, there are too many noodles to really call it 'coleslaw' and the dressing is REALLY (and I mean REALLY!) sweet. The second time I made it, I used 2 pkgs of noodles instead of 4, halved the sugar to 1/2 cup, and substituted 1/4 cup of the vegetable oil with sesame oil. Eureka! Now THIS is an awesome recipe!! Also, I only had oriental-flavored ramen the second time around and I didn't notice a difference between that and the chicken... I think any flavor would work just fine. Thanks, yooper, for submitting such an easy and tasty recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spottie scott October 26, 2006

I wouldn't change a thing. People asked me for the recipe. One clarification--seems to me if you want a little bit of crunch, I wouldn't necessarily make this dish the night before...just make it about 4 or 5 hours before your meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansasjosh November 25, 2005

This was pretty much the top seller of our 2004 Canada Day Celebration. I have had several requests from guests for the recipe...always a good sign....I made this on a whim as I had all the ingredients in the house (the craze for kids around here is to eat ramen noodles uncooked out of the package with a bit of the seasoning on top...I don't ask why cause when I was a kid our cool thing was to eat jello powder out of the box!) Anyways, this is a terrific salad, makes a lot but unfortunately disappeared way too soon. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FEPO July 04, 2004

Very good. I did decrease the Ramen noodles to 2 packages and used rice vinegar and olive oil. It was a bit sweet for my tastes but everyone else went wild over it. It has a great blend of flavors and textures. I know I will make it often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava G. April 12, 2004
My Favorite Oriental Coleslaw