29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well I accidently came across this Mark, sounded so good I had to add it to our Thanksgiving dinner menu. Very good indeed!! I made one change, personal preference for diabetes, left the sugar out of the dressing and used 1/4 cup of brown splenda. Seemed to work fine. Had rave reviews!! I cut the recipe in half and did make it the night before, love things made ahead!! We loved the sunflower seeds and our favourite crunch, water chestnuts. Thanks for sharing, it added a delightful crunch to our dinner!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 14, 2002

OH MY GOODNESS! This might be my new favourite food. I could not stop eating it. I halved the dressing and the ramen noodles, and I found this ratio very nice ... seems like it would be a bit much if I hadn't. I used a combination of rice, cider, and white vinegar, and a few dashes of sesame oil as well as the vegetable oil. A little cilantro might be nice in this, for those who like it. Going to go eat some more now ... MMMMMMMMMM!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut September 20, 2006

This was really delish!! I used rice vinegar, 1/4 cup of sesame oil and 1/2 cup of olive oil...1 cup of sugar, 1 tbl tamari sauce instead of regular soy, and added slivered almonds...I used only 2 packages of the noodles...the kids couldn't get enough of it! Thanks for posting such a great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 June 28, 2009

WOW WOW WOW!! This was different and GOOD! I followed a previous posters recomendations and halfed the sugar and put in only 2 packets of ramen. This was out of this world. Thanks yooper for a great great recipe. YOU ROCK! Edited to add: The dressing tastes good even as a regular dressing on salad!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamaudra May 04, 2009

Rave review and recipe request from all who tried it. I have eaten many variations of this salad so was looking for a recipe when I came upon this one. It was so simple and had great comments so I decided to try it for an office potluck. WOW! I barely got any for myself. This will definitely be a tradition in my household.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bambo October 10, 2006

This was quick and easy to make. I used only 2 packages of Ramen noodles, 2 bunched of green onions and only 1 can sliced (chopped) water chestnuts. Couldn’t find sunflower seeds (go figure!) so I used toasted sliced almonds and added some sliced mushrooms. I reduced the amount of sugar to ½ cup. Sorry I didn’t follow the exactly, but this recipe a great recipe to tweek to your own taste!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom July 26, 2006

Wonderful! I did add 2 tsp. sesame oil to the sauce. My oldest son came over and had some, requested the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR April 21, 2003

Good salad! Will make it, again. Loved the mix of flavors and textures. Thanks, Carole

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando April 20, 2003

This is a favorite recipe that I am always asked to bring to gatherings, instead of the water chesnuts and scallions, I put 1 cup of sunflower kernels and 1 cup of sliced almonds, and I have found the brocoli slaw works better it does'nt get soggy so quickly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenni g. August 22, 2011

Truly awesome!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and the onions back to 2 bunches and only 3 packages or the noodles with only 2 packages of the seasoning packets to try to keep the salt down. It is very yummy. I ate some with leftover chicken tacos and I couldn't get enough of this coleslaw. Great summer side!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawni May 23, 2009
My Favorite Oriental Coleslaw