Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Favorite Oriental Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Favorite Oriental Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      Well I accidently came across this Mark, sounded so good I had to add it to our Thanksgiving dinner menu. Very good indeed!! I made one change, personal preference for diabetes, left the sugar out of the dressing and used 1/4 cup of brown splenda. Seemed to work fine. Had rave reviews!! I cut the recipe in half and did make it the night before, love things made ahead!! We loved the sunflower seeds and our favourite crunch, water chestnuts. Thanks for sharing, it added a delightful crunch to our dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      OH MY GOODNESS! This might be my new favourite food. I could not stop eating it. I halved the dressing and the ramen noodles, and I found this ratio very nice ... seems like it would be a bit much if I hadn't. I used a combination of rice, cider, and white vinegar, and a few dashes of sesame oil as well as the vegetable oil. A little cilantro might be nice in this, for those who like it. Going to go eat some more now ... MMMMMMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This was really delish!! I used rice vinegar, 1/4 cup of sesame oil and 1/2 cup of olive oil...1 cup of sugar, 1 tbl tamari sauce instead of regular soy, and added slivered almonds...I used only 2 packages of the noodles...the kids couldn't get enough of it! Thanks for posting such a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      WOW WOW WOW!! This was different and GOOD! I followed a previous posters recomendations and halfed the sugar and put in only 2 packets of ramen. This was out of this world. Thanks yooper for a great great recipe. YOU ROCK! Edited to add: The dressing tastes good even as a regular dressing on salad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Rave review and recipe request from all who tried it. I have eaten many variations of this salad so was looking for a recipe when I came upon this one. It was so simple and had great comments so I decided to try it for an office potluck. WOW! I barely got any for myself. This will definitely be a tradition in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This was quick and easy to make. I used only 2 packages of Ramen noodles, 2 bunched of green onions and only 1 can sliced (chopped) water chestnuts. Couldn’t find sunflower seeds (go figure!) so I used toasted sliced almonds and added some sliced mushrooms. I reduced the amount of sugar to ½ cup. Sorry I didn’t follow the exactly, but this recipe a great recipe to tweek to your own taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Wonderful! I did add 2 tsp. sesame oil to the sauce. My oldest son came over and had some, requested the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      Good salad! Will make it, again. Loved the mix of flavors and textures. Thanks, Carole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      This is a favorite recipe that I am always asked to bring to gatherings, instead of the water chesnuts and scallions, I put 1 cup of sunflower kernels and 1 cup of sliced almonds, and I have found the brocoli slaw works better it does'nt get soggy so quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Truly awesome!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and the onions back to 2 bunches and only 3 packages or the noodles with only 2 packages of the seasoning packets to try to keep the salt down. It is very yummy. I ate some with leftover chicken tacos and I couldn't get enough of this coleslaw. Great summer side!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This is fantastic! Appreciate your sharing it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This is the best oriental coleslaw recipe out there. I prefer to make it even easier by leaving out the sunflower seeds and water chestnuts. Keep in mind that the crushed Ramen noodles get soft after a couple of hours so eat it up the first day and it'll be better than having leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      YUM! I didn't have any sunflower seeds, so I left those out, and I threw in some baby corn because it was in the fridge and I needed to use it, and this was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This has to be one of the best, if not the best coleslaw recipe around. I could eat the entire bowl! I had this at a Christmas party, and it was absolutely delicious with all of the savory flavors, and the crunchiness of the sunflower seeds. My colleague who made this also put toasted almonds. This recipe is one that I plan to make again and again. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Wonderful, I had my Mother over for dinner and she said it was the best Coleslaw she had ever eaten!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Since I am looking this up to make it for about the 40th time, I thought it was about time that I reviewed this. Everytime I make it, I get asked for the recipe. No leftovers, ever! What I particularly like is the sunflower seeds, which gives the nutty crunch, but makes the salad edible to people with nut and peanut allergies. Great party favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I gave this recipe 4 stars in hopes that people would try it; I do, however, hope they read reviews (as I do!). I made this recipe 2 different ways and here are my findings... as listed, there are too many noodles to really call it 'coleslaw' and the dressing is REALLY (and I mean REALLY!) sweet. The second time I made it, I used 2 pkgs of noodles instead of 4, halved the sugar to 1/2 cup, and substituted 1/4 cup of the vegetable oil with sesame oil. Eureka! Now THIS is an awesome recipe!! Also, I only had oriental-flavored ramen the second time around and I didn't notice a difference between that and the chicken... I think any flavor would work just fine. Thanks, yooper, for submitting such an easy and tasty recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I wouldn't change a thing. People asked me for the recipe. One clarification--seems to me if you want a little bit of crunch, I wouldn't necessarily make this dish the night before...just make it about 4 or 5 hours before your meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      This was pretty much the top seller of our 2004 Canada Day Celebration. I have had several requests from guests for the recipe...always a good sign....I made this on a whim as I had all the ingredients in the house (the craze for kids around here is to eat ramen noodles uncooked out of the package with a bit of the seasoning on top...I don't ask why cause when I was a kid our cool thing was to eat jello powder out of the box!) Anyways, this is a terrific salad, makes a lot but unfortunately disappeared way too soon. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      Very good. I did decrease the Ramen noodles to 2 packages and used rice vinegar and olive oil. It was a bit sweet for my tastes but everyone else went wild over it. It has a great blend of flavors and textures. I know I will make it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Favorite Oriental Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 473.4
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    52%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 922.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 23.6 g
    94%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes