11 Reviews

This recipe lifts lowly navy bean soup to greater heights! My changes and subs: replaced the ham with a few strips of bacon and added one quarter teaspoon of liquid smoke to try and mimic the taste of ham. Two cloves of roasted garlic were a delicious addition as well. Broth for water and I pureed half of the soup in a blender. The freshly grated nutmeg, sherry and sour cream were inspired and unexpected touches! Threw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and cooked on LOW for about 4 1/2 hours. I do have one confession: I was out of navy beans in both dried and canned varieties therefore I substituted with Great Northern beans and it worked out well. Lastly, garnished servings with fresh parsley from the garden. Next time I will be sure to have the correct beans on hand to give this recipe the right proper respect it deserves. Yay for navy bean soup! I knew you could do it! Thanks for posting! cg

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 10, 2010

Great soup, really hit the spot for us during a cold wintery spell. Left out the sugar since I used a hambone from a brown sugar glazed ham. Thanks Greg its simplicity put it at the top of our soup rotation. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu January 11, 2009

I made this for my family here while it has been nasty cold and we had a ham bone left over that was very meaty. This was a good soup, I omitted the carrots, husband and son don’t like cooked carrots, did use sherry at the end. All of felt something was missing in making this a great soup. Very easy to prepare, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgbg100106 January 17, 2009

Wonderful Navy bean soup, Greg! I love the hint of nutmeg. I did add a drained can of white hominy--which gave it more bulk. I doubt, changed the flavor. Made for BellyWarmers Event in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks January 03, 2009

I have made several varieties of bean soup and I don't think any were better than this. I did use a ham bone left over from Boxing Day and the ham had been studded with cloves which also added flavour to the soup. I would never have thought of adding nutmeg but although I couldn't pick it out in the flavour, it sure didn't hurt. I loved the sour cream on top, looked nice too. Thanks for a great recipe that is going into my soup cookbook and will be made many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV January 01, 2009

This was a delicious soup. I did use 3 cans chicken broth instead of water but I always substitute broth for the water called for in soups as I feel it lends a greater depth to the flavor. Will definately put in the soup recipe cookbook and make this one again. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Chef December 10, 2008

This really is a good recipe. The directions are easy to follow, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
994510 October 19, 2008

Very tasty soup! I used ham hocks and added a bit of garlic. Thanks for posting, Greg in San Diego!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan October 02, 2008

I just had to make this soup and did. Well, of course five stars . . . is there any other rating for your recipes, not for me. Easy, perfect and the sherry for the finale, divine. First time I prepare a new dish, I follow to the tee. Would I change anything. NOT. Would I add anything, NOT. Great the first time up to plate and even more yummy next day. Instructions, directions, step by step . . . an advantage to coming up with a dish that is wonderful. *would you believe I don't own a blender, I use my hand-held emersion blender and it is a never fail compromise to the big guy but sweet clean up. A breeze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloob January 18, 2008

This was extremely easy to prepare and the directions were so easy to follow. Delicious soup. I made a few changes as I didn't have much ham on hand, just one leftover slice so I added leftover turkey with the bit of ham. I added splenda instead of sugar as I am diabetic and I tossed in some leftover kernel corn (about 1 cup). I also used about ten cups of water instead of the six that were called for and the soup is still thick and tasty. The next time I will add less sugar maybe just one tablespoon splenda. Delicious served with toasted whole grain bread, a green salad and butterscotch pudding for dessert. Looking forward to having the leftover soup for dinner tomorrow. Soup is even better served the next day!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Sharon #2 January 01, 2008
My Favorite Navy Bean Soup...so Easy to Prepare!