Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Favorite Navy Bean Soup...so Easy to Prepare! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Favorite Navy Bean Soup...so Easy to Prepare!

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      This recipe lifts lowly navy bean soup to greater heights! My changes and subs: replaced the ham with a few strips of bacon and added one quarter teaspoon of liquid smoke to try and mimic the taste of ham. Two cloves of roasted garlic were a delicious addition as well. Broth for water and I pureed half of the soup in a blender. The freshly grated nutmeg, sherry and sour cream were inspired and unexpected touches! Threw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and cooked on LOW for about 4 1/2 hours. I do have one confession: I was out of navy beans in both dried and canned varieties therefore I substituted with Great Northern beans and it worked out well. Lastly, garnished servings with fresh parsley from the garden. Next time I will be sure to have the correct beans on hand to give this recipe the right proper respect it deserves. Yay for navy bean soup! I knew you could do it! Thanks for posting! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Great soup, really hit the spot for us during a cold wintery spell. Left out the sugar since I used a hambone from a brown sugar glazed ham. Thanks Greg its simplicity put it at the top of our soup rotation. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I made this for my family here while it has been nasty cold and we had a ham bone left over that was very meaty. This was a good soup, I omitted the carrots, husband and son don’t like cooked carrots, did use sherry at the end. All of felt something was missing in making this a great soup. Very easy to prepare, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Wonderful Navy bean soup, Greg! I love the hint of nutmeg. I did add a drained can of white hominy--which gave it more bulk. I doubt, changed the flavor. Made for BellyWarmers Event in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I have made several varieties of bean soup and I don't think any were better than this. I did use a ham bone left over from Boxing Day and the ham had been studded with cloves which also added flavour to the soup. I would never have thought of adding nutmeg but although I couldn't pick it out in the flavour, it sure didn't hurt. I loved the sour cream on top, looked nice too. Thanks for a great recipe that is going into my soup cookbook and will be made many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This was a delicious soup. I did use 3 cans chicken broth instead of water but I always substitute broth for the water called for in soups as I feel it lends a greater depth to the flavor. Will definately put in the soup recipe cookbook and make this one again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This really is a good recipe. The directions are easy to follow, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Very tasty soup! I used ham hocks and added a bit of garlic. Thanks for posting, Greg in San Diego!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I just had to make this soup and did. Well, of course five stars . . . is there any other rating for your recipes, not for me. Easy, perfect and the sherry for the finale, divine. First time I prepare a new dish, I follow to the tee. Would I change anything. NOT. Would I add anything, NOT. Great the first time up to plate and even more yummy next day. Instructions, directions, step by step . . . an advantage to coming up with a dish that is wonderful. *would you believe I don't own a blender, I use my hand-held emersion blender and it is a never fail compromise to the big guy but sweet clean up. A breeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This was extremely easy to prepare and the directions were so easy to follow. Delicious soup. I made a few changes as I didn't have much ham on hand, just one leftover slice so I added leftover turkey with the bit of ham. I added splenda instead of sugar as I am diabetic and I tossed in some leftover kernel corn (about 1 cup). I also used about ten cups of water instead of the six that were called for and the soup is still thick and tasty. The next time I will add less sugar maybe just one tablespoon splenda. Delicious served with toasted whole grain bread, a green salad and butterscotch pudding for dessert. Looking forward to having the leftover soup for dinner tomorrow. Soup is even better served the next day!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This was quite good! Very easy to make, and inexpensive as well. It's pretty low-fat, too, especially because I used low-fat ham. As suggested, I pureed some of the cooked beans and added it back to the soup -- good! I made one change -- I left out the sugar completely. I just don't like it. The only other thing I would change is to put more ham in it. Sticks-to-your-ribs comfort food! I served it with easy corn muffins -- Jiffy mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Favorite Navy Bean Soup...so Easy to Prepare!

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    75%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 756.8 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 15.1 g
    60%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites