64 Reviews

Hi, I made this tonight for dinner... What great comfort food!!! Yum! I cut the recipe in half and still have enough for lunch tomorrow. I used crushed tostidos on the bottom of the pan. I love that it is easy, yet good. Thanks so much for sharing this with us. I have been looking for a good recipe for this!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach March 28, 2003

Your favorite has now become one of ours! We love mexican food and this recipe was so easy and delicious! This is one of those dishes that you can put together in no time yet the results are wonderful. Great comfort food served with a side of spanish rice. Yum. Thanks DE.....ah Moxie (sigh)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher March 02, 2003

I love this dish! My aunt's mother-in-law has been making it for years and it is always a favorite with everyone who tries it! Thanks for reminding me of it! :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraTracey March 13, 2003

Holy cow, this recipe was so good I had to make it two nights in a row, and the second night, I was home alone. It is soooo good!!! I halved the recipe, but silly me did not half the tomatoes and chilies. It put a little more zing in it, but I like moderately spicy food. The second night I ran out of cheesy doritoes so I just used plain, it's still good, but if at all possible put the cheesy doritoes in, it really adds to the flavor. I am definately putting this on our keeper list!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Moxie!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd July 01, 2003

I was a bit skeptical, Moxie. Cheez Whiz and Doritos? But I just finished eating and I was pretty impressed! The only changes I made were to replace the mushroom soup *shudder* with celery soup and I used a precooked roasted chicken from the grocery store. My reasoning behind the 4 stars and not 5? Believe it or not, it was a bit too cheesy for my tastes. Next time I think I will cut it back a bit. As the food cooled off, it just got too stringy for me. Other than that, I really enjoyed my dinner and I must remember to thank mom42 for suggesting this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah January 27, 2004

As I put this into the oven, I told my dh and guests that this will either be really good or really bad. (Wasn't sure about the chips!) It was sooooo delicious!!! There was only 4 of us, but it was gone that night. I did make a few changes - I omited the cheese whiz and just threw in a couple slices of American cheese into the sauce. Also, no onions for us! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe that I will be makig again, for sure!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid October 11, 2003

This review is late. The first time I made this I made it with leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. It was soooo good. When you are tired of the "thanksgiving" taste but have leftover turkey this is a great recipe. The second time I made it with chicken. It was great that way too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom42 January 28, 2004

The flavors are really GREAT in this! But it was too "heavy" for our tastes. I'm thinking of adding an extra can of Rotel, leaving out the Cheez Whiz and only using a bottom layer of chips. I steamed my chicken in my rice cooker and it turned out perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele in NJ September 12, 2003

We really enjoyed this dish...a terrific way to use up leftover chicken...we'll definitely be making this one again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul April 24, 2003

My boyfriend of 2 years has been talking for months about a casserole his mother made using chicken and Doritoes. Unfortunately noone got her recipe before she passed away. I cooked this last night doubling the recipe and substituting one can of Mild Ro-tel. He and my four kids loved it. He said it was just like Mom made. Thank you !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy Michele April 15, 2004
My Favorite King Ranch Chicken