Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Favorite Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Favorite Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2011

      Really appreciate this recipe. It was uber easy and tasted great. Less salty than what I'm used to which was wonderful. Not sure if that's the orange at work or what. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I love it!!! I have been doing mine in the crockpot or stovetop for 30 years, but this was truly the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      OMG!!! I usually cook it in my crockpot, but I realized I forgot to put it in before I left for work. I was looking for a recipe that wouldn't need to be in the crockpot and take 8 hours. So....I tried this one! I don't think I will ever cook it in the crockpot again! It was so yummy AND tender....it just fell apart! I really liked the flavor of the oranges also! Nice change!! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      We thoroughly enjoyed your recipe for our St. Patty's dinner. The cabbage is outstanding and truly made this dish. I used a small head of cabbage and a 3 1/2 pound Corned Beef and followed your same instructions for the larger piece of meat. Thanks, Mary K. W. for posting.. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I made this tongiht and it was GREAT! I cooked the cabbage a little longer and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I made this tonight for St. Patrick's Day dinner and followed the recipe as written. I'm sorry to write that no one in my family liked this recipe. I will not be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I've been cooking bland boiled corned beef & cabbage all my life & liking it. Tonight I wanted to kick it up a notch and your recipe was incredible. DH was at the local VFW where they were serving the usual boiled fare for $8 a plate. When he came home to my St. Patty's dinner I only charged him $7.50 & he's still raving. I cooked potatos and added them to the cabbage & apples at the end, then drizzled the meat juices over them before serving. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I made it for supper tonight and it was much tastier than the usual soggy version I made every year. I put it together in the morning, then left the easy instructions for my teenage son to finish and I went to the opera. When I got home, supper was ready and waiting. We served it with slices of a thick German country bread and butter (Beckman's). The oranges enhanced the flavor the beef and I was pleasantly surprised to see that even with four hours in the oven, it didn't dry out. The only think differently we did was substitute butter for the margarine. Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This is now my favorite recipe for corned beef and cabbage...It is wonderful tasting, easy to prepare, and a definite crowd pleaser! I usually only make corned beef and cabbage once a year, for Saint Patricks day! After having this for dinner my family has requested it more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Wow! I have to tell you I had my doubts about this recipe. I'm not big on sweetly flavored meats but this wasn't that way at all. I baked my 3lb brisket @325° for 2 3/4hrs. otherwise following the recipe as written, including the cabbage. Next time I'll try the full 4 hours even for the smaller cut just to see if it would get even more tender. What an outstanding way to prepare the cabbage. We'll definitely be having that again and soon. Thanks, Mary. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This made a delightful St. Patrick's day lunch for 8 of my lucky family members. My mom & dad were lucky enough to take home the leftovers. I made this the night before so I could serve it the following day at my Grandmother's house without having to cook it in the oven for 4 hours. She suggested I slice it while it was cold and then put the slices together in the roasting pan and reheat in 350F oven for about 20 minutes. This worked really well since hot corned beef easily shreds when you cut it. We just cooked the cabbage at her house too, which made lunch indredibly easily. Thank you Mary K.W. on behalf of my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      I was given a very similar recipe by a friend over 30 years ago. This is the only way we cook corned beef now. It is delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Favorite Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (518 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 911.6
     
    Calories from Fat 610
    66%
    Total Fat 67.8 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 305.4 mg
    101%
    Sodium 3664.0 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 58.6 g
    117%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickling spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites