Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Favorite Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Favorite Chili

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-77 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2006

      Fantastic chili. I backed off a bit on the chili powder (2/3)-- I only had 2 1/2 pounds of burger. I also added 2 cans (30 oz.) chicken stock bnecause I like a thinner chili. The only real major change I had to make was substituting seasoned salt for Mrs. Dash -- I just didn't have any and it was Mother's Day so I couldn't roam the neighborhood to get some -- everybody gone! This isn't Grannie's chili but it's not some weird chili either. It's a good basic chili that tastes great, sweet and spicy (but not too sweet). I make a lot of chilis and this one goes down as a keeper. This one will work okay over spaghetti too, even though it's not a Cincinnati Chili. I did use the beans, 2 cans, drained and rinsed. Great job Kim and thanks for this super chili recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      My DH and I would order chili from a restuarant called Little Angies Cantina at canel park in Duluth,when ever we got to Duluth. I always wished I had that chili recipe. I don't have to look any further. This recipe is sooooo close to thiers. I made half the recipe,not knowing what to expect. I will be doubling it from now on..I did omit the jalapeno and tabasco.And added 2 tsp beef boullion powder and 2 cans red kidney beans drained,I used all the celery and garlic ,and tomatoes and paste asked for. Also I served it up with chopped onions,shredded cheddar and sour cream.It made this chile the best. One else restuarant to eat at.Thank U for this wonderful recipe..We will enjoy it very often...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Well, I have this strange affliction that does not allow me to follow a recipe exactly, so I made a few changes. Bottom line...this was AWESOME! I doubled the veggies, "eye-balled" my measurements, left out the red pep flakes for the kids, used 2 cans stewed tomatoes, used 1/2 of a LARGE stout beer and 2 large cans of chili beans. We all loved it including my 2 year old and 7 year old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Fabulous chili! I added beans and used the whole bottle of beer. There's just me to cook for, so I was a bit overwhelmed when I saw how much it made. I divied up the leftovers in individual servings and stuck them in the freezer. They sure didn't last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Great easy recipe, the only changes I made were to increase the beer to a whole bottle and lessen the water. Can't find anyone who doesn't like this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This was terrific! Just the right amount of heat for me (a little too much for the kids, though). After cooking the groundbeef, onion, pepper and garlic, I put all the ingredients in the crockpot and cooked on low overnight. Again, it was fabulous. Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Perfect Chili. I added some dry roasted garlic and a little REAL maple syrup. The syrup gives it a bit of a high in richness. I know that sounds unusual but it's really good. I'll keep this recipe and use it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Excellent Chili. I added two cans of tomatoes and cut back slightly on the chili powder and it turned out great. Thanks Kim127

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Made this last night and it was outstanding!! Great instruction and easy to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      This is one of the best chili's that I have ever had! I added the kidney beans, didn't use the red pepper and only used 3 tbsp chili powder. It was really great with the cornbread crackers!!!!!!mmmmmmmmmm Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      An excellent chili! I did change the recipe by adding a couple cans of red kidney beans though, also added a fistful of chili peppers (frozen, from my garden) to accelerate the heat quotient a bit. (Boy did it!) Served w/ cornbread; a complete and hearty meal. Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      This chili was wonderful!! I followed the recipe except I added 2 tsp. jalapenos and 12 oz. tomato paste (because that was the size of the can that I had on hand). I also added 2 cans kidney beans, undrained. My family loved this recipe. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      This was my first time cooking chili and it turned out fabulous! Everyone really enjoyed it thanks for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      This was my first time making chili and it was a hit. My husband and I agreed this will be our base recipe from now on, but we will just make a few adjustments. We will probably leave out the celery as I am not sure what it really added. I didn't have jalepenos, but next time I will make sure I do, because we like our chili hot! I halved the recipe because it is just the two of us, and it worked out just fine. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Excellent chili. I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I didn't have beer so I used white wine that was opened since Xmas. I also added two jalapeno peppers as we like our food spicy. Thanks Kim127 for a great recipe. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      WOW......this chili is wonderful tasting!! It has a perfect balance of spices. DS proclaimed it as "excellent" and DD said it was the best chili she'd ever tasted. I made a few slight changes to the recipe. I omitted the bay leaves and Tabasco sauce. Even without the Tabasco, the chili had a nice kick to it. I reduced the amount of salt to 1 tsp and added 2 tsp beef bouillon granules. I also added two extra cups of water. Kim127, I can see why this is your favorite chili recipe. It is now our favorite chili recipe as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Favorite Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.5
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    57%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 123.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 998.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 36.7 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes