10 Reviews

This is the perfect hearty chili. It is mild but can be seasoned to taste. This chili has the perfect blend of beans, meat and sauce and one does not overpower the other. I have eaten it with grated cheddar cheese sprinkled on top and chopped onions and tobasco. A perfect meal in itself.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan'l July 16, 2002

My husband and I enjoyed this very much! I've been looking for an 'easy to make' and 'great tasting' recipe for chili. This is it. I agree with previous comments that this does have the perfect balance of beans, meat and sauce. I added a little more chili powder though. My husband told me it was the best chili he ever ate.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MzPearl March 08, 2003

Bev, I would ditto all of Dan'l's comments about this chili. On personal preference, I did add a few extra spices to give it a little more zip, but the balance of beans, meat and sauce is wonderful. Thanks for sharing. Tweeky.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith N. January 20, 2003

Very easy! My Superbowl Sunday crowd enjoyed it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S in PA February 26, 2002

Quick and easy to whip up, wonderful. I kicked up the seasoning a notch or two. Threw in a jalapeno. Agree with other reviewers, the balance of meat and beans is perfect ! Thanx for a great keeper, froze some for later also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvfood April 03, 2003

Hearty - that's what I'd use to describe this chili in just one word. Tons of kidney beans and beef in this one. After putting everything else together I threw in a can of diced tomatoes. Made a comforting meal with cornbread last night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 08, 2009

Good, but not our favorite. Really missed having cumin and other flavorings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet January 23, 2009

This is your favorite chili... and now it's mine We loved this! My dbf cooked some dried kidney beans and I used those instead of canned - I did have to add more tomato sauce as I had too much kidney beans! Thanks Bev! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie May 08, 2008

A simple to make great tasting chili, I added a small tin of chopped tomatoes but other than that followed the recipe to a T, like the added green pepper. Served with a dollop of sour cream and some grated cheese. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* March 06, 2005

I did make some changes to your recipe out of necessity. After I started cooking the chili, I found I had no chili powder. Luckily, I had a package of chili seasoning mix (McCormicks) so I added that. I used a combination of ground beef and pork and drained off the grease after sauteeing. In my opinion, this meat combination was more moist than just ground beef. This is an outstanding recipe, Bev, which I chose because it had your name on it and I knew I couldn't go wrong. Thanks so much for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie October 25, 2004
My Favorite Chili