735 Reviews

Yep, 5 stars per my kids who are super selective about their Sloppy Joe's! We used ground turkey and added 1 diced garden fresh green pepper and switched out the BBQ for our favorite Sweet Baby Ray's. Will definitely make this again in a larger batch and freeze it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya R. August 16, 2016

I'm sorry to give the only negative review. I'm not saying it was awful, but to me, this did not taste like Sloppy Joes at all. My husband, kids, and I, all agreed that it tasted more like a barbecue sandwich, and that was not the taste I was looking for. Although I knew the recipe called for barbecue sauce, I didn't think it was enough that it would overpower the taste, but it did. I love a real barbecue sandwich, but not with crumbled ground beef, and not when I'm expecting a "Sloppy Joe" taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa G. August 09, 2016

Oh my goodness! I had no idea Sloppy Joe's could taste so good. This recipe is going down in my homemade cookbook I'm having made for my children when I'm but a memory. Don't see any way that it could be improved upon! Thank you so very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sybilxvi July 05, 2016

This sloppy Joe recipe is really very good. I didn't have tomato sauce, so used some tomato soup as a replacement for that. You might want to reduce the sugar, depending on your barbecue sauce, as some brands are pretty sweet. I'm making the leftovers into a pasta, sloppy Joe, and cheese casserole today. Great way to stretch a pound of ground beef. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiedkj June 24, 2016

I've been using the exact recipe for 6 years. My kids love it, I never get any complaints or whining. My friend who HATES celery even ate two of them without noticing lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer E. May 24, 2016

Awesome recipe! I followed the recipe ingredients exact, except while the ground beef was draining I sprayed the pot with a non- stick spray and sautéed the celery and onions over a low heat until they started to get soft ( a couple minutes) then combined everything. I did let the mixture cook some with the lid off so they wouldn't be as runny. I have a recipe that is somewhat similar to this but this one is so much better! I used Open Pit BBQ sauce, original flavor as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakes003 February 10, 2016

Just did this recipe and the family LOVED it planning on making it again soon!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dcassandra96 October 27, 2015

Needed something quick, easy, and delicious to make for lunch today, so whilst searching I found this little treasure. I changed up a few things based on what was in the fridge and my lordy did it taste fantastic. My family is vegetarian so we never keep meat. The veggie base mock beef is a great sub. I also put honey mustard instead of dried mustard. It tastes much sweeter! Overall great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danni W. October 09, 2015

Made a few changes to the recipe as we like ours with a bit of spice. Added red & green peppers as well as a bit of cayenne pepper. It was delicious! Will definitely be making again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akochny September 11, 2015

I've made this many times and each time I do I can't believe how good it is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue S. August 18, 2015
My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)