Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Average Rating:

    710 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 710

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2013

      This is a family favorite. I keep this one in the book for my go to sloppy joe. I will never buy the canned garbage! Easy and quick to make. These are super delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      I was looking for a recipe for a kid friendly dinner the other night when I came across this. We decided to go with the Pizza Joes version. Very easy to make. But much to my surprise the kiddos didn't like them, while DH and I thought they were really good. UPDATE: While the family rated the Pizza Joe's 3 stars. Tonight we made the Sloppy Joe's and we liked them better. I used a hickory smoke barbeque sauce and three stalks of celery. The hickory smoke added great flavor and I would recommend it. Next time, however, I will only use 2 stalks of celery. We all felt that 3 was too much. Served with Cajun Jalapeno Poppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Greatest Sloppy Joe Recipe EVER! No need to ever look for another one! I had 15X'd this recipe for my Wedding Reception and it was a hit! I made the following modifications: I Omitted the Celery, Replaced the small chopped onion with 1 Tbls of Dry Chopped Onion Flakes (per batch) for convenience, Used Ken Davis Original BBQ Sauce, seasoned the beef to be browned with Lawry's Seasoning Salt consequently omitting the salt and pepper. YUMMY!!! Posted a picture of the 15X'd recipe and appears in the photos in the huge Rival Roaster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      The family loved it. Substituted sweet onions and used Korean BBQ sauce (only BBQ sauce in house). Even by estimating the ingredient amounts, it was delish! Next time we'll have to get bigger rolls...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Dh loves this recipe! Have even made twice. Second time I tripled and had in crockpot for three hours-- celery came out with a bit of texture which we like. For us, the celery amount is fine. I did reduce catsup, barbecue sauce, and sugar a bit. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      We really enjoyed this recipe! It was by far the best sloppy joes I've ever made. I served them on big, soft bakery hamburger buns. They were such a huge hit. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

    • on July 07, 2013

      I'm always looking to improve, even when something is great. FOR MY TASTE - forget the ketchup and double barbecue sauce ( I like Jack Daniels or Bullseye) Added 1 large garlic clove minced when browning, reduced moisture for about 6 minutes after 20 minute simmer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      This was wonderful! The whole family loved it! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      Had a bunch of my kids' friends over hanging out. They all wanted sloppy joes, so tried this out on them. Added just a little prepared mustard, cause couldn't taste the dry. Also would decrease celery to one rib. Easy to prepare and we enjoyed it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Perfect summer patio dinner. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      I was looking for something to make to take to the beach that was easy. My boys had never had sloppy joes before, but they said they loved the barbecue taste. It was a hit especially with my younger son who is very picky. I didn't change anything in the recipe. I served it with coleslaw and barbecue potato chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      I've made dozens of different sloppy joe recipes over the years. I stopped at this one. I've made this many times now and see no reason to ever try a different sloppy joe . These are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I added 1/4 cup of chopped bell pepper & left off the vinegar (because I didn't have any) & they turned out delicious! I won't buy the canned anymore! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      These were great! I've always used Manwich, and though I guiltily admit it's one of the only products from a can that I love, this recipe was better. The brown sugar was key for me to adding that touch of sweetness. I didn't have any tomato sauce, but had a can of crushed tomatos which worked just fine. Next time, I may either simmer covered for a bit longer, the celery was a touch too crisp for my liking. Served this as is on whole wheat buns with a veggie on the side - nice well-balanced meal. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      good one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Didn't have the canned stuff on the shelf.
      Followed the recipe (but did substitute ground turkey for beef)(and I don't like ground turkey)
      Added 1/2 chopped yellow bell pepper to the onion and celery mixture.
      Added 1 slice of american cheese while simmering...(mom taught me that one)
      FABULOUS....FABULOUS...FABULOUS!
      Even the ground turkey in it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      This was THE BEST Sloppy Joe I have EVER had!!!! My whole family LOVED it! This will be my GO TO Sloppy Joe recipe from now on! DELISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Seriously, this is the best sloppy joes I've ever had! I added an extra TBS of vinegar for a little more tang, but that was my only change. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for posting. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      I took a double recipe of this to a Super Bowl party yesterday and it was literally inhaled! I could have easily tripled or quadrupled it. My husband rarely states that any food is "THE BEST HE'S EVER HAD" -- but that is exactly what he said after eating these sloppy joes!!

      I made a couple simple changes that might work for others. I diced up a red bell pepper (we dislike green bell pepper) and sauted it along with the onion, celery and ground beef. I also used a squirt of spicy brown mustard instead of dry mustard. Then I dumped everything in the crock pot and let it simmer a couple hours.

      Thank you for sharing this incredible crowd-pleasing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 733.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites