Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Average Rating:

    710 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 710

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2014

      I really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have barbecue sauce handy and chose to leave out the brown sugar, and it was still flavorful. This is easy to make and can be prepared for a lot of people. I'll add this to my recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I had to use what I had so instead of tomato sauce I used tomato soup and a little extra mustard since I was out of dry. This along with sweet/spicy baby rays and it was delicious. Picky kids actually ate it!! Will definitely get put in the rotation and next time will try it all your way. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I made a vegetarian version with veggie "ground round", adding peppers and omitting Worstershire sauce. A little grated cheddar on top as well! My husband, 10 month old and I loved it (three year old was not so sure but she'll come around). A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I've made this recipe dozens of times and it is amazing! My kids love it because it's super tasty and I love how fast I can get it on the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I made this recipe tonight for dinner. I'm not a fan of sloppy joe's but something made me make them and I have to say they were so good. My husband liked them as well. Great recipe. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      Nice and simple recipe for sloppy joes!!! I scaled this back to 1/4 of the recipe, but followed as written for the recipe. I just bought some celery the day before, it was very fresh and green and even after simmering for 45 mins., it was still crunchy when I ate my lunch, but that isn't the fault of the recipe but rather the super freshness of the celery. My recipe is very similar but includes green pepper, which I did miss and would add it next time. I used "Montgomery Inn" bbq sauce so it had a little kick which was nice. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "Best of 2013 Tag Game".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      My family devoured these! Used local beef and subbed marinara sauce for the tomato sauce and ketchup. The homemade BBQ I used had all the remaining ingredients in your recipe: brown sugar, mustard, etc. so I skipped adding those ingredients. The mixture was served over dinner rolls I picked up at a local bakery. Served with a tossed salad. Very good and very easy! Made for Best of 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I've always hated sloppy joes. I've hated the recipes that I've prepared myself, and I've especially hated the canned variety of sloppy joes. This recipe here made me a sloppy joe believer. Very tasty and easily tweakable for your own tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      This recipe has so many 5 star ratings that I knew it had to be good and it was. We enjoyed it very much and will make it again. I did add a couple of shots of hot sauce because we like extra spice and it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Try it with Mexican style tomato sauce (such as El Pato), and it makes great chili cheese fries and a good sandwich too. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      This is the second time I've made this and it was great! First time I stuck to the recipe exactly, this time I made a few changes, I used turkey instead of ground beef, and I also added garlic as well as a few shakes of Frank's Red Hot Sauce. <br/>Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I'm giving the pantry challenge a shot this month and happened to have all the ingredients on hand. This is definitely the best sloppy Joe recipe I've found to date. I threw in about a clove's worth of minced garlic near the end for extra flavor but think the recipe stands on its own just fine too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      I haven't had Sloppy Joes since I was a kid and I was skeptical about making these, but needed something quick and easy for a camping trip. They were SO yummy!!! To make it a bit more heart healthy, I replaced half the beef with ground turkey and I couldn't tell the difference. Next time may use all ground turkey because the flavor is so great it wouldn't matter what kind of meat was used. This is being added to my list of often made meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      these are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. The second time, I left out the catsup but added twice as much Famous Dave's BBQ sauce. It was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      Being an Aussie, I've only ever seen these on TV. Decided to try them and they are delicious! The base of the sauces, sugar etc has been used by my family for years for another recipe. If only I had known they were so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      These are outstanding. I do a lot of canning so I used my canned tomato sauce, spicy peach barbeque sauce and relish. I also added a few banana peppers. My family loves them! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      This was very good! Made as written but only added 1 celery stalk so DS wouldn't freak out... I think next time I will decrease or even leave out the vinegar, to me it was too prominent. Served on hot dog buns because apparently I was out of burger buns! Made for Name That Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This made a good early dinner for us on this dark and stormy day. Easy and delicious. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      I made the recipe just as it calls for except I added green bell pepper. I thought the flavors/taste was amazing and way better than the can but my husband wanted to know if I could leave out the bbq sauce next time because it was a little over powering. I used Kraft regular bbq sauce but next time I make it I will try a different brand to see if it would have a milder bbq taste. I loved the bbq taste and will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Really the best sloppy joe recipe I've ever had. My husband, who doesn't care for the sweet, tomato-ey canned stuff (along with every other recipe that I've tried) LOVES this recipe. The vinegar and mustard are great additions. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 733.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites