733 Reviews

With 424 reviews already I don't think I could add anything constructive, but they were good. I don't like sloppy joes much but my husband loves them and said four stars. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ May 11, 2009

My whole family thought this was great. I doubled the recipe and the only change I made was to use celery seeds instead of celery cause that's what I had on hand. The kids just loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElephantLady May 03, 2009

My eldest daughter loved this, she couldn't get enough....the younger one is a bit pickier. I omitted the celery and added one zucchini & carrot, shredded. I didn't have dry mustard so I didn't put that in either. Ran out of ketchup, but had the packets of ketchup from drive thru meals...so if anyone is interested...8 packets of ketchup equals 1/4 cup of ketchup. ; )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayscookin May 03, 2009

What a great recipe easy to follow instructions!! Wanted to make sloppy joes and these are awesome!! My family loves them and they are so easy to make. I first sauteed 1 stalk of celery a little bell pepper, 1/2 onion in olive oil and sauteed til soft and chopped til fine in food processor (have picky eaters that don't like onions) than added it back to the pan with the ground beef to brown it and followed the recipe from there. I used 1 3/4 lbs. of ground beef and upped the bbq sauce and ketchup to 3oz each (a little over 1/4 c.) but kept the other ingredients pretty much the same. I do think this recipe will be as good as the quality of the bbq sauce that you use. I had leftover Bill Miller sauce (from a bbq place here in Texas) and we thought that was fantastic, so make sure you use one that your family loves. YUMMY I will make these as often as I can. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe! These were a hit. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari79 May 03, 2009

These are fantastic. I always compare sloppies to Manwich as they are kind of my 'standard' as to how I like my sloppy joes to taste (what can I say, I grew up on them) and these are way better. Definitely will be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrongChef May 02, 2009

We loved it! **Updated** I never make "seasoning packet" joes anymore - these are just too easy to excuse that. :) I always omit the celery as DH is not a fan. One note: last time I made this I only had tomato paste rather than sauce, and used that - they turned out way too tomato-y. I salvaged them by adding more water and more vinegar to taste, but we definitely prefer them with sauce vs paste. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 April 29, 2009

Picky 8-year-old and 1-year=old both loved it, along with myself. Definitely going into regular rotation. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ggsisco April 29, 2009

My daughter asked to have manwiches - I made them once and I didn't like them at all. I remembered making slpppy joes when I was growing up but didn't have the recipe. I remembered that it had ketchup, brown sugar, bar-b-que sauce and tomato sauce in it but I couldn't remember what else. I found this recipe and thought this had to be it. We just had them for dinner and everyone loved them! My daughter said they were 1000 times better than manwich. Thanks for posting my favorite sloppy joe recipe from when I was a kid - I'm thrilled to be able to make them with my daughter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kareniscooking April 27, 2009

Made it without celery(used celery salt) added a bit more worcestershire sauce and brown sugar. This is a good recipe for sloppy jopes. It is quick. But not my favorite. Really good if you are in a hurry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom April 27, 2009

OH boy! Everyone loved it. My husband said that I am never to buy the stuff in a can anymore. He couldnt stop talking how good it was. the kids loved it too. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Oregon April 22, 2009
My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)