Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Average Rating:

    710 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 710

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2011

      Tripled the recipe for a potluck. Brought home an empty crockpot. Very good and very easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly, this time! A keeper for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      Really good! I made it tonight for my dinner. It has a really good flavor and you have most of the ingredients in the house already. Will make again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Great taste, the whole family loved it! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Very good. I will make this again. Didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      My family loves this recipe. I omitted the ketchup and doubled the bbq sauce (my husband and kids don't like ketchup). Everything else in the recipe remained the same and it was delish. Thanks for the keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I made this for me and my daughter as my fiance was out of town and we both loved it. I usually just make the stuff from the can, but never again this was simple and easy and tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      It's no wonder this recipe has so many excellent reviews! I am sorry it took so long for me to try it! This recipe is so easy to make with ingredients that most everyone has on hand at all times. I made this using Jack Daniels Honey Smokehouse Barbecue Sauce and I followed your excellent directions exactly. My husband had 3 so I know, I will be making this a lot! This is a great recipe, Hey Jude!! My husband and I thank you : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      My Husband LOVED this recipe. It was more like BBQ beef than sloppy Joe to me, but I like the fact that it wasn't too spicy. even my 20 month old liked it. I ran out of one type of BBQ sauce so had to mix n match...but still tasted delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Wow! These were great! In Australia, we had only ever heard about Sloppy Joes in movies & books, so it was interesting to finally try them. I made up a batch & fed them to the boys whilst they were watching the footy & they didn't last long at all! A delicious tangy BBQ flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Delicious, teenage son really enjoyed these for dinner, and we all liked the barbecue flavour. I used Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce that I received in a food swap. I'll be making these again, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I made this with ground turkey. My husband typically doesn't like ground turkey, but I'm trying to eat less red meat. This got the nod of approval even with ground turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      My family loved this. I made as directed except for the following: I didn't have celery, so I used a medium-sized green pepper, and I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, so I used A-1. I made this quickly on the skillet, toasted some slider buns, and had enough for 12 sliders for dinner over two days. Moist and tangy. The next time I make this, I think I may add a little more heat to my and my husband's portion by adding some red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      This was such a good recipe that I actually signed up to make an account in order to write a review. Yum. Yum. Yum. Is all I can say. And I left out the celery. Didn't have BBQ sauce so substituted Hoisin-Garlic marinading sauce by SoyVay. Didn't have dry mustard, but used regular mustard. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      Delicious tangy and rich sauce! Added finely diced veggies to up the nutritional value and it worked great! My boys love it! Great recipe because you don't really need to measure ingredients. Just throw in and adjust flavor as needed. Really great and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      Loved it! DH did as well. I didn't have celery on hand so I subbed it with celery salt and it turned out perfect. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      As I was making this after work today, I was thinking that it had better be worth all the effort I was putting in when I could have just opened a can. It was, and then some. Amazing! I doubled the recipe and added a green bell pepper because I had it and needed to use it. Would not change a thing. Perfect Sloppy Joes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      This recipe veganized quite well. I used the frozen-defrosted-crumbled tofu substitute for ground meat and vegan Worcestershire sauce and I think it has turned out very well. Next time I'll use a bit less barbecue sauce, but that's just a personal preference thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Our family loves this recipe. I made it again last night, used ground turkey, it tasted exactly the same

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      Very good, made for dinner! I doubled recipe but only used 1 celery stalk because I normally don't like celery in recipes. Will be my new "go to " recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      Fast, easy and flavorful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 733.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites