Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Average Rating:

    710 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 710

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2004

      Great Sloppy Joes! Used Cookies barbeque sauce. All the flavors blend into a truly tasty sandwich. Thanks, Hey Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      Yummy stuff.....5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This is a great recipe. I split the hamburger with italian sausage and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      This is pretty good! It tastes less barbecuey than I thought it would with the sauce in it (I used Sweet Baby Ray's sauce), but that was fine as it gave it more of a sloppy joe flavor. The one thing about this recipe is that it has too much celery in it (and I only used 2 of the 3 ribs of celery called for). The celery taste was competing with the meat flavor a bit much. I think next time I will stick to just one rib, because I do think the sauce was pretty good and would prepare this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      These were delicious and me and hubby really enjoyed them. Made them exact to recipe. Thanks for sharing . Glittergirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      I have been searching for the perfect sloppy joe recipe for some time and this it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      The flavors meld so well in this recipe. I've been searching for the 'perfect' sloppy joe recipe and for my family, this is it. Try this sloppy joe recipe. I think you'll like it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      Mmmmmm! Great recipe and easy to put together:) My DH loved them! ...we will definitly make them again. Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Really good Sloppy Joes! Haven't had anything but Manwich in a LONG time! I'll be making these again. So easy! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      I've always been a "chicken gumbo" sloppy joe partisan but you've converted me with this recipe. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      These really are good sloppy joes and much-enjoyed by my kids (who got as much on them as in them). Spicy, but not over-the-top, making them very kid-friendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      I've been making a variation of this recipe for years. I thought that with all of the 5 star reviews, I'd try this one. I followed the 1st 6 ingredients as written, and then after close scrutiny of the remaining ingredients; sans the salt and pepper, realized that it's just more barbecue sauce. Save yourself the extra ingredients and either add more barbecue sauce or if necessary, remaining ingredients to taste. This is good, but it's just hamburger with barbecue sauce, not that there's anything wrong with that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      These were way to sweet for our taste. I added a half a red pepper to the mix and after cooking down found them to sweet so I added a half teaspoon of cumin and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and that seemed to do the trick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This is one of the best sloppy joe recipes I have ever tried. Made it exactly as written. Next time I will add some green bell pepper and it will be perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      We decided to try this recipe for Christmas lunch today and the whole family loved it! We were tired of the big meals from the holiday gatherings and wanted something good but simple. This was perfect. We did not have the tomato paste but substituted some home-grown canned tomatoes. We also cut back on the celery. Even my dad loved it and he will tell you he does not like celery. This had a really good flavor. We made some slaw to go with it. I'm not a big eater, but I had 2 hamburger buns full of this. It was great. Thanks for sharing the recipe. It really hit the spot today and we will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      This is the BEST homemade recipe I have ever tried. I use my canned tomatoes (about 1 qt) in place of the sauce the recipe calls for. I simmer it for about an hour just to boil down some of the water from the tomatoes. I also like to puree the tomatoes first (just my preference - not necessary). It is so fast and easy to make I sometimes make it after I get home from work! I will NEVER buy jarred sauce again. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Delicious and easy! I think next time I might try to mince the onion and celery even smaller, and I agree that green pepper would add some great flavor. Overall, we all enjoyed it very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe. It's even better than the recipe I usually use, also from food.com. I doubled the batch so I could freeze some, and am so glad I did. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added 2 T green pepper and 1/4 t ground cloves (for a double batch). I've had Manwich before, and it tastes to me like it has a little clove in it. Also toasted my buns. Perfection. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Ive usually defaulted to Manwich when i make sloppy joes but this time decided I would try a homemade version instead. It was really good and super easy. I used a Sweet & Spicy BBQ sauce for mine. Served it over Kings Hawaian Hamburger Rolls (toasted) and I beleive I forgot where I was for the next 10 minutes. So delicious. Im thinking next time i may try it with Jack Daniels BBQ sauce which is my favorite. This recipe will also be on my favorites list. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Easy and delicious!! Made this a few days ahead of time to take to the beach so we wouldn't have to cook on our first night. And these these were gobbled up. The key is using a barbecue sauce you really like. Served them with Tater Tots and it was a fun delicious dinner. Will never buy canned Sloppy Joe sauce again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 733.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes