716 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this recipe. I will never buy the canned stuff again. I like to use a spicy bbq sauce and give it some zing. I have made large batches the night before and then put it into the crockpot on low to have for gatherings. It stays really moist and delicious.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Holton September 10, 2010

After making this about 50 times, I need to review it. WE LOVE THESE!! It is the best sandwich around. I let it cook down till it gets all "ooey gooey" and then put it on a nice warm toasted bun...YUM! The only thing I do is add a bit of green bell pepper, just think it needs to be in there. Serve with coleslaw or fries...the BEST!!! Thanks for such a great recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cincasue December 13, 2009

My girlfriend and I made them for lunch and we couldn't get enough so we made them for dinner too! Delicious! Love the celery in there, never would have thought of that!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmbflame21 August 29, 2010

Followed recipe exactly and got perfect sloppy joes. Served on buns with shredded velveeta and they were delicious. I would probably add some diced green pepper the next time only cause I love green bell pepper, not because the recipe needs adjustment. Served with macaroni salad on the side. Great dinner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine February 10, 2004

These were good! I chose this recipe mostly because I was low on ketchup and this one calls for very little in comparison to other recipes. I too liked the addition of the celery. Quick & easy to put together,thanks for a tasty recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* February 07, 2004

This is the only way I make sloppy joes from now on!! I have made this several times and my entire family fights over the leftovers! Be sure to double the recipe, its that good.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swenzel2 March 23, 2011

This was the Best sloppy Joe ever! I will be making this alot! Nothing about this recipe needs changed-perfect! Okay, maybe I will change one thing-next time I will make a double batch!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV March 25, 2004

Very good! I like that these have tomato sauce instead of just catsup and barbeque sauce. I also liked the addition of the celery.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 18, 2004

Great meal! Found out I was a little short on ground beef so I chopped up a leftover smokie to make up the difference. I used That Bobbie girl's barbque sauce Bobbie-Q Sauce (Barbecue Sauce) for the bar b que sauce and served this on homemade buns Homemade Buns. How did I ever make supper without Recipezaar? ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 23, 2003

I decided to review these, after all...we have been eating them a lot! My kids would only eat Manwich mix sloppy joes. One night, I made these instead. They ate them like crazy! They asked what they were because they did not taste the same as normal, these were really good. So I stick with making these and not the can stuff and I know what I put in it as opposed to things I can not even say...lol! Great stuff, thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommy2_4kids May 10, 2011
My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)