Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Average Rating:

    708 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 708

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2010

      We love this recipe. I will never buy the canned stuff again. I like to use a spicy bbq sauce and give it some zing. I have made large batches the night before and then put it into the crockpot on low to have for gatherings. It stays really moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      After making this about 50 times, I need to review it. WE LOVE THESE!! It is the best sandwich around. I let it cook down till it gets all "ooey gooey" and then put it on a nice warm toasted bun...YUM! The only thing I do is add a bit of green bell pepper, just think it needs to be in there. Serve with coleslaw or fries...the BEST!!! Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      My girlfriend and I made them for lunch and we couldn't get enough so we made them for dinner too! Delicious! Love the celery in there, never would have thought of that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Followed recipe exactly and got perfect sloppy joes. Served on buns with shredded velveeta and they were delicious. I would probably add some diced green pepper the next time only cause I love green bell pepper, not because the recipe needs adjustment. Served with macaroni salad on the side. Great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      These were good! I chose this recipe mostly because I was low on ketchup and this one calls for very little in comparison to other recipes. I too liked the addition of the celery. Quick & easy to put together,thanks for a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This is the only way I make sloppy joes from now on!! I have made this several times and my entire family fights over the leftovers! Be sure to double the recipe, its that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      This was the Best sloppy Joe ever! I will be making this alot! Nothing about this recipe needs changed-perfect! Okay, maybe I will change one thing-next time I will make a double batch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Very good! I like that these have tomato sauce instead of just catsup and barbeque sauce. I also liked the addition of the celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Great meal! Found out I was a little short on ground beef so I chopped up a leftover smokie to make up the difference. I used That Bobbie girl's barbque sauce Bobbie-Q Sauce (Barbecue Sauce) for the bar b que sauce and served this on homemade buns Homemade Buns. How did I ever make supper without Recipezaar? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I decided to review these, after all...we have been eating them a lot! My kids would only eat Manwich mix sloppy joes. One night, I made these instead. They ate them like crazy! They asked what they were because they did not taste the same as normal, these were really good. So I stick with making these and not the can stuff and I know what I put in it as opposed to things I can not even say...lol! Great stuff, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Easy and tasty recipe. I don't have a lot of patience or experience cooking so I judge meals by a ratio of taste/time. These joes make my top 5 fav recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I always make sloppy joes with the canned mix, but realized last minute that I was out of it today. I did a quick search for a recipe and this turned out great. I didn't add the celery cause I didn't have any (used about 1/2 tsp celery salt) and was too lazy to cut onion, so added a couple tsp of onion powder. I had to add a bit more sugar since I thought it was a bit sour - from what I read, it depends on the type of BBQ sauce you use. Kids loved it. I'd definitely make this again. oh ya... and who ever has dry mustard lying around? I just shot a squirt of regular old French's and it was fine :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Bravo Jude! Followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. The whole family loved it, I'll be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      These were Good the longer they sat. I added Beer yes, Beer it was too BBQ before the beer. I added about a fourth of a cup of beer and cooked it off then they rocked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This is so much better than anything you can buy in the store!! My older daughter is a pretty picky eater and this is something she actually requests. Can't really get higher praise than that in our house! Thanks so much for sharing. This is DEFINITELY a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Just made this for dinner tonight ! So yummy :) My husband thought it was our regular sloppy joe from a can mix . He even comment that it tasted better and asked if I had bought a new kind ! Thanks for the recipe I will be keeping this one !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Pizza joes!!!!! what an idea. I have not made the original of this recipe but make a pizza joes often. I add pepperoni to mine and they are always devoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This recipe is excellent! My husband I thoroughly enjoyed this quick recipe. I'll never use the canned stuff again. Thanks so much! BTW, I skipped the celery because I didn't have any but added more onion. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I'm from Peru and since i was very little i would sometimes watch on TV (american movies and tv programs) people eating this kinda gross looking thing and i always thought: "Man i have to try those!" lol Finally i found this recipe and let me tell you, now i love sloppy joes! Although i did leave out the celery because i don't like it much and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      This is a great sloppy joe recipe! Forget the can! I will not be using that again. Great tasting without the peservatives and artificial flavors. This is an awesome sloppy joe recipe. Thanks Hey Jude

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Family's Favorite Sloppy Joes (Pizza Joes)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    48%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 733.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites