24 Reviews

When I was little my grandma would always make this for me when had a cough or sore throat. I remember it being really salty and gross but I think it always helped. I would recommend trying it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NenaBelle December 02, 2008

I've had a wicked cold for the past couple of days, but I just now ran across this. I figured I would try it because, honestly, I'm desperate... Anyway... I know it sounds crazy and maybe it is all in my head, but i actually feel a bit better after this! My throat still hurts and I've got a killer cough, but I FEEL better... Thanks for posting this, I will keep it up and will be sure to use this in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy February 26, 2008

I've used this since college, when the infirmary always gave this to students when they'd come in with a cold and sore throat. It works! My husband used to be skeptical until he tried it, and now he will use it too. Yes it's very, very salty. It's supposed to be. Use a little less salt if you can't bear it, and definitely don't drink it, but it has to be very salty to kill the germs which can't live with all that salt attacking them (heh heh heh, bye bye germs!!!!) Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PBF February 04, 2008

My family has also been using this for years. Every time i start to get a sore throat my mom says, go gargle with some salt water. It really does work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Bennifer January 18, 2008

I always use this when I have a cut or a sore in my mouth. To those who think it's too salty: it's supposed to be that way. It's not made for flavor, it's made for healing. The amount of salt helps to clean whatever "wound" may be present, and kill the germs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cannonmonkey January 13, 2008

Just wanted to say that my mother and grandmother (and many generations before them) have used this forever!! I, in fact, used this this morning for my 8yo ds who has a large cold sore in his mouth. Then I came on here to read reviews from yesterday and here it was!! This really does speed the healing process. Salt has healing properties. I will use this for a few days when my throat is sore and it works great!! I thought that this was just a mountain remedy and found it on Zaar!! How great is that!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 01, 2007

I'm not giving it stars right now, because I've only used it once. I want to see how my throat feels later on, after 2-3 more times. It was way too salty, and I'm not sure whether it's because I used sea salt, or I had slightly too much salt in my cup. I microwaved it, and it was way too hot, so I solved the salt and temp problems by adding a little more water. I got up coughing and actually gagging this morning (I think from dust yesterday). I just gargled a little, and my throat is burning a little, which means it's healing. I'll repeat it once later tonite, and again before bed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ November 30, 2007

This is what we always use for sore throat relief, and any kind of mouth, gum or tooth soreness, or cuts in your mouth. Works like a charm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen June 28, 2007

I too swear by this charm - also, look into a "nettie pot."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true April 18, 2007

An old family remedy - works for me too! I hope others try this, cheap and it works. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom April 08, 2014
My Easy Cure to an Oncoming Cough and Cold