6 Reviews

These were delicious, just right in the sweetening and a delight to eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 09, 2014

Another wonderful ever so yummy scones recipe from her majesty, the queen of scones! :) Seriously A, these scones are sooooo good! They are soft on the inside and sugary crunchy on top (with the optional sprinkling) and the taste is perfect! The cherries trick you into thinking that theres already the jam spread onto your scone. I made half the recipe for just my sis and me and ended up with 4 big scones. I was really pressed for time when throwing these together, so I was very happy that these were really quick and easy to make. I made some changes due to personal preferences: I used regular unrefined sugar, but only 1/4 cup for half the recipe, used butter instead of margarine as thats what I had on hand, but left out the egg all together. Had no evaporated milk, so used skim, but only 1/4 cup. Oh and by accident I doubled the cherries, which was great, so I will do that again next time Im making your scones. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful, guilt-reduced scones recipe with us, Annacia! Ill definitely make it again! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #22 May 2010 and Went to the Market Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 08, 2010

Made these according to the recipe ~ except that I doubled the amount of cherries ~ & they came out just great! Loved the dried cherries in 'em! Best eaten still warm from the oven, I think, but I wouldn't pass on any leftovers! So satisfying & enjoyable! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 06, 2011

I made this recipe as written, however I used white whole wheat flour. Agree that the Splenda flavor was minimal (a good thing in my book). However, they were a little more dry than I prefer - no big deal though. I LOVE dried tart cherries in anything!!!! Thanks for sharing! Made for Veggie Swap May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 22, 2010

I made a few boo boos as I am not a baker by any means. I used melted margarine rather than cold and I think I didn't compensate for the humidity in FLorida. The recipe was yummy and had a wonderful flavor. I used a mixed berry instead of just cherries. My recipe never got unsticky and the scones were chewy when cooled. I will try them again because they did have a great flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgt.musclehead May 12, 2008

We loved these. I did make one major substitution, which is that I used dried cranberries instead of cherries. I loved the taste of these and did not think they had the weird splenda taste that often comes from baked goods that don't use any regular sugar. I thought the texture of these was perfect and look forward to enjoying these often! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit April 07, 2008
My Diabetic Country Cherry Scones