15 Reviews

My whole family loved this cake! My grocery store didn't have butter pecan cake mix, so I used a butter flavored golden cake mix instead and it worked great! Naturally it would have had a more intense pecan flavor if I'd have used pecan cake mix, but didn't really miss it. The butterscoth flavor is what we really loved! Thank you for this easy yummy cake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~BethCooks~*~ March 01, 2004

This cake had a great flavor, but totally fell apart when I took it out of the pan. I will try it again though because it tasted great! Thanks for posting! EDITED Jan 19, 2008 - Tried again but this time greased the pan with Kittencal's #78579 and the cake came out of the pan WITHOUT falling apart!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta January 19, 2008

Give your cousin a pat on the back because this cake is great! I did sub applesauce for half the oil to reduce the fat a little but besides that I made as directed. Thanks Harley for this yummy treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis August 13, 2007

The cake came out of the pan very nicely, the flavor was wonderful, the cake was moist, and we enjoyed it very much, I will probably make it again. My only drawback is I agree with one of the other reviewers, that it was not "pound cake" like enough for me. Like I said, we enjoyed the cake very much, but next time I will bake it in a 9x13 or 2 9inch rounds. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick August 12, 2007

Since this got rave reviews, I thought I couldn't miss. But, apparently I did something wrong. It was very gooey, and not "pound cake" enough for me. It was toooo heavy. I didn't even serve it. My son and I tried it...and had to throw it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbieMDGourmet May 28, 2007

I loved this cake so much I've made it twice already. Very moist and lots of butterscotch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Davenport November 17, 2006

I choose not to put any stars because I am not sure if I did something wrong or not. All of the butterscotch chips sunk at the bottom of the pan while cooking! Maybe I put the wrong type of butterscotch pudding mix? (I put the no name brand pudding and pie filling mix since it was the only one I found). The cake was very moist. I cannot really judge the taste since it did not turn out right (it was too sweet at the bottom of the pan because of the butterscotch chips). But I did lick the mixing spoon and that was very good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonia #2 October 25, 2006

I knew when this was baking if the cake tasted the way it smelled it would be wonderful. My hubby devoured the first piece I gave him. It is possibly the moistest cake I have ever prepared. Thanks for posting and I can't wait to prepare it for friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinafan January 16, 2006

Delicious. Smelled soooo good cooking I could hardly wait for it to cool enough to try a slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadflax September 17, 2005

This was absolutely delicious! I followed the directions to a "T". This was way too easy to taste so good! Great with a cup of coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach February 03, 2005
My Cousin's Butter Pecan Pound Cake