9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Rating as a 5 star as I did not have the spinach leaves! This may have made all the difference to this recipe, which was lovely, but we thought it could do with another element - I am sure the spinach leaves was it!! :-) We enjoyed the addition of the cranberries, this was a great fruity taste to the curry couscous. We both enjoyed this with salad leaves and crusty bread for a light supper tonight! Thanks Bethie, made for the Veg'N'Swap in the Veggie forum. FT:-) (Photos to be posted - noted due to the changes on the 7th July.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart July 06, 2010

This was such a flavorful way to prepare couscous! I loved the kick of the curry powder with the sweet/tart of the dried cranberries. This was a wonderful side with grilled chicken. I can't wait to try this recipe again and maybe add a little crunch with some toasted nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephstew May 05, 2013

This was a perfect side dish to our Easy Clam Cakes and Acadia's Asparagus Side With Dill. I omitted the spinach leaves because we were eating asparagus as our veg side and this recipe as our starch. I agree with French Tart though that the couscous needs the spinach perhaps not so much for flavor but contrast of color. If I had had fresh cilantro on hand I would have garnished it on top. I substituted pearl couscous for standard and the last 5 minutes of standing time stirred in 2 tablespoons of dried barberries in place of dried cranberries. Used my homemade curry powder and only 1 3/4 teaspoons because even though it isn't particularly spicy it still has a bit of a kick. Delicious; and adaptable! Reviewed for NA*ME tag and Veg Tag/June.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 08, 2012

Great couscous! Loved the addition of the cranberries and spinach. My curry was fairly mild and was great with these flavors. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for the Best of 2011 event, recommended by Mikekey

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 10, 2012

A big 10 stars here! One of the best couscous recipes I have made. Didn't change a thing. The sweet/tart of the cranberries compliment the heat of the curry powder. A perfect side for a grilled chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey July 31, 2011

Totally yummy. I loved the combination of sweet cranberries and spiciness. I used Rita's Cajun Spice Rub Cajun Spice Rub Mix Recipe but next time I'd try curry, and then maybe next time Jamaican jerk seasoning. The sweetness from the cranberries and onions are a perfect foil for any spicy mix. Spinach makes it more healthful, and I reduced the oil and butter to 1 teaspoon each. BF was very pleased with this too. If you prefer your spinach a bit more wilted, add it as soon as you remove from heat. Thanks a lot Bethie! (P.S. see you at Atlantic Antic next year;))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend October 09, 2008

Yum yum yum... and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martin_gleeson May 29, 2008

5 Stars all the way! This is great. I used Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix for the curry powder because I made some up this morning for a tag and needed to sample it and raisins for the cranberries (I never seem to have cranberries in the house and somehow dried cherries didn't sound like a good sub lol). Anyway, it was wonderful. I very much enjoyed it warm and the flavors came together very well. This is a fast make meal that I'll make again and again. Thanks Bethie for sharing your grand creation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 03, 2008

this is wonderfull. great combination of flavors. will be making this one again. Would be great hot or cold. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 October 28, 2007
My Couscous Salad