Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Copycat Shrimp Paesano Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Copycat Shrimp Paesano

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2003

      Excellente, Miss Annie!!! I have had Shrimp Paesano there, before, and loved it. Okay, tell the truth....are you "moonlighting" as a chef at Paesano's?? LOL! Seriously, this is a wonderful recipe. I wouldn't change one thing about it. Add a little pasta and a salad, close your eyes and you're on the riverwalk! Thanks bunches for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      I have been to Paesano's many many times and this is the real thing. I made it with shrimp two nites ago, but tonite I am making it again with thin sliced boneless porkchops. I also plan to make it with pounded chicken breasts. This is SO easy and absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      Excellent! Living in San Antonio, I still can't make it Paesano's nearly enough for this dish. Now I don't have to. Fantastic copy-cat recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Wow! This was great! My husband was SO impressed. Easy recipe with fabulous results! Definitely my favorite shrimp recipe. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Miss Annie....3 words, yum, yum, yum! My husband's only comment, "oh honey, awesome dinner!" Easy, quick, and very, very good....thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Sorry, I hate to burst your bubble but I used to work at the original Paesanos on McCullough in San Antonio. Everyone tried to get this recipe and it was never revealed. As far as I know Joe and his beautiful wife are not divorced (but I haven't lived there for 20 years. If someone would say "what if I am allergic to something in the sauce" We would tell them they had to tell us their allergy, go ask Joe, and then report back 991/2% of the time they were not to worry it didn't have whatever they came up with.<br/>As far a I know it contains only cleaned and deveined 10/15 shrimp, no tails, soaked in milk, dregged in flour and sauteed on both sides. Before serving they are heated in an oven which recrisps the top of the shrimp. The sauce is only unsalted butter, slowly melted using a hand wisk, it must be on a very low temperature or it will clarify then the only ingredients added are garlic, parsley and lemon. No chives, no egg, no half and half. It is all in the technique that the butter is melted. Butter, egg yolk and lemon is hollandaise sauce, you can add garlic and parsley to that and it will be lose but it won't be Paesano sauce. For their Picatta sauce they leave out the garlic and parsley. Good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Having never been to the restaurant in Texas, I had nothing to compare it to. I made this a few weeks ago and we loved it, So much so I'm serving tonight on Xmas Eve with other seafood. It's not some we would eat often, since it's pretty rich, but a very nice special occasion meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Miss Annie....delicious! I lived in San Antonio and Paesanos was one of my favorite resturants. My friends and I loved it. We all ordered the shrimp scampi as an appetizer, everytime we went. I was thinking though, maybe a just little plain bread crumbs added to the flour..again just a little. There is a texture in the real one that I believe is bread crumbs. (? imo) I do however believe you hit it on the nail with all other ingredients. Great Recipe regardless. Thanks! Long live shrimp scampi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I followed this precisely, except I didn't use as much flour as recommended. About 1/4 c. nicely lightly dusted the shrimp. There was tons of extra sauce, so I'll save that for later, and probably add another 2-3 cloves of garlic, or maybe some cayenne. The dish was rather bland to my tastes and slightly disappointing. I'm going to try it again, because of the ratings, and just see if it was an off night for me. I hope so....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I've never been to Paesano before, so I have no idea about the copycat quality of the recipe, but I do know that I enjoyed it very much! I used 31-40/lb shrimp and removed the tails, and at the end I let the shrimp soak in the sauce, then removed them for serving (husband is not a big fan of saucy foods), but other than that, it was the same. The one side saute and the broil give them such a unique and tasty texture. I may liven it up with some sort of spice the next time (paprika or similar), because while the dish is not bland, t doesn't have the kick I usually look for. But it is a wonderful departure from the usual super spicy or super creamy/cheesy shrimp dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I am so sorry to only give this recipe one star, but something was just lacking. I followed the recipe to a T and my family and I were all so disappointed with the taste of the dish at serving. It might have been that I was expecting a bright flavor given from the lemon in the sauce. We found the dish very bland and that the sauce broke by the time dinner was being finished. Sorry again, I wanted so badly to enjoy. Sader

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Fab!!!! This is our new favorite romantic dinner at home! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Excellent! I loved how crispy the shrimp were - seasoned great too. I pretty much followed directions exactly, just used enough 1/2 & 1/2 to cover my shrimp. We didn't eat these over pasta. We used cheesy garlic toast to soak up the sauce instead. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Nice dish- hubby really liked it. kids were ok with it. used only 2 sticks butter. the only problem with this dish is the heavyness of the butter sauce. i did add some half and half to the sauce- had to make it spread a little more since i used 2 lb of shrimp. also used a little more garlic and lemon. I only wish this wern't such a HIGH FAT/Calorie dish cause we would definately eat it more often. We ate over linguini, but I felt that it would be much better as a appetizer (just shrimp and sauce) than a meal. so the next time we might cut the recipe in half and just use as a appetizer when we have appetizer night. thanks so much for sharing this. A wonderful recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I made this and was thrilled that it came out so wonderfully! I loved the flavors and it was a big hit with my company as well. I made wild rice pilaf and candied carrots on the side and it was a wonderful dinner all the way around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This is a show stopper for sure!! I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, for the sauce, this recipe forgot to list the chives and that helps make the dish!!! Add equal parts parsley and chives. I actually use about 1/2 cup of each, but you can use less. Try this one tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I will try again for sure, but for some reason this didn't turn out the way it should have. I must have done something wrong since other reviews say it tastes just like the real thing. That's what I was looking forward to, as Shrimp Paesano from Paesano's is to die for! I will review again after the next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      I have to admit, I live in San Antone and have never been to Paesano's....but I have been told this is better. I made shrimp with only 2 sticks of butter and no other changes. Served with Angel Hair pasta and sauted spinach and asparagus...then put the shrimp on top of the pasta and poured the sauce. The man of the house said I just need 2 more hits like this and I should open my only restaurant!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I really liked it- very light. Served it with pasta. Dh didn't like the sauce much, but he still liked the shrimp. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Did this recipe just as it states. I have never had shrimp made this way before....and I must say it was wonderful..... My hubby said I can make this again soon. Thanks for sharing such a great shrimp recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Copycat Shrimp Paesano

    Serving Size: 1 (531 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1351.8
     
    Calories from Fat 963
    71%
    Total Fat 107.1 g
    164%
    Saturated Fat 62.6 g
    313%
    Cholesterol 491.5 mg
    163%
    Sodium 762.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes