Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Chicken Parmigiana With Homemade Pasta Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Chicken Parmigiana With Homemade Pasta Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      Don't be put off the seemingly lengthy list of ingredients...it's a lot more simplistic than it looks...and it doesn't really require much effort to produce a tasty meal. This recipe makes a lot of sauce,so plenty left to freeze up for a quick fix dinner..always a bonus!! The chicken was beautifully moist and full of flavour,beautifully complimented by the sauce and cheese. Thanks Lainey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      halved the recipe and used dried herbs instead of fresh, it still turned out amazing and there was plenty left to make some pasta with

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Delicious sauce that was great for this type of dish. The chicken was golden brown and tender, and the sauce and cheese sent it to another level for us. We loved it! Thanks Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      It really didn't work for me. The sauce tasted way over cooked and the chicken was tough. You also don't say what temperature you baked it at. I think I did it at 350.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Totally delicious! I used dried Australian Bush Tomatoes instead of the tomato paste, omitted the red pepper flakes, used six chicken breasts (since I was cooking for two, it was either reduce to four for two meals or increase to six for three meals) and used white wine instead of water (all personal taste preferences) but wouldn't otherwise want to change anything in this recipe. Because I was making the pasta sauce for six chicken breasts, I simply was generous with all the ingredients in the pasta sauce, and the proportions worked out fine for the two meals I put in the freezer after step twelve. As suggested by Lainey, I served this with angel hair pasta to which I'd added some thawed and thoroughly squeeze-dried frozen spinach. Thanks, Lainey, for a yummy recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This was lovely! I let the sauce simmer for hours while I did the laundry (sigh). The only change I made was to add some sliced smoked Gouda to the cheeses on the chicken -- so good! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I just made the sauce (not a big chicken fan :-) ) and it was delicious! Just what I was looking for - I did add a few links of italian sausage to make it heartier since I was just eating it over pasta, and used dried herbs since I don't keep them fresh. I will be making this again! For ZWT4 Flying Duchess'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      First words out of my DH mouth were, "Hon this has to be one of the best sauces you have ever made for us�. Comments like that say it all ~ I will be using this sauce for other dishes. No complaints on the chicken. For cheese I chose to use was mozzarella cheese. Enjoy~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This is outstanding. We also love a sweet sauce and enjoyed this one immensely. The chicken came out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      De-licious! I was looking for a pasta dish I could make ahead and didn't want to make yet another lasagna. So I made the sauce ahead and browned the chicken in the morning. Then I just assembled before baking. It also had the advantage of being lactose free (a portion without the cheeses, obviously) for one person who is allergic. I used crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes in place of the paste. I used only a small amount of sugar as I usually do, but I did add the tiniest pinch of baking soda as I usually do to cut the acidity. (Try it, it really works, but be careful that it is only a tiny bit. You can ruin your sauce if you use too much). We all really enjoyed this dish and plan to eat the left overs in sub buns (like a meatball sub, kind of thing). Thank you Lainey for a terrific recipe and for your advice about making it ahead! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Although the lengthy recipe is intimidating, this was not difficult at all to prepare. Then the entire family wolfed it down and called for seconds. It's delicious! We actually used milder Romano cheese in place of Parmesan, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. There's sauce left for tomorrow's lasagne. Made for Please Review My Recipe March 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Very tasty chicken! This was my first attempt at making a sauce from scratch and it turned out pretty good. I did add quite a bit more of all the herbs than is posted but that was just a personal preference. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Very good, i make chicken parm often but never added the pepperoni. Really added a good flavor. I used my own pasta sauce, because I always have that on hand. Gave this recipe to my neice to try. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Loved it ! Yes these ARE probably the biggest pasta pieces ever made LOL ... they were not cheap but from imported from Italy and hand made, I found them in a Italian specialist shop and it was worth the money to try them once. They taste, well, like pasta ! DH liked the sauce better than the chicken, but all in all this was a grest comfort food meal. I kind of cheated and put all the sauce ingredients(except the cheese) into my crockpot for 8 hours the day before... and since it made a lot I froze half and kept the rest to use the next day with this. All I needed to to was the chicken the next day, for a wonderful winter weekday meal. I mixed some cheese in at the end to thicken it just a little, since I was worried that the cheese would be tough if I added it too early and because I wanted coat my giant pastas in the sauce as well. I was worried that DH would not like the sweetness of the sauce but he didn't mind it and I made the recipe as written except for upping the amounts of garlic and herbs (personal preference). Please see my rating system: 4 great stars for an easy recipe that we will be making again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I am so happy I tagged this recipe for Random Tag. For the sauce instead of water I used chicken stock and not quite 1/4 cup of sugar. Simmered this on low for about 5 hours. The cutlets browned up nicely and I used a package of pre-sliced provolone cheese. This smells and tastes amazing! If you enjoy chicken parmigiana definitely give this recipe a try. Thank you Lainey for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Yum! Don't let the long list of ingredients put you off from making this recipe. This recipe is really special, I followed the directions as written but changed the ingredients. I used egg replacer instead of real eggs, mozzarella cheese instead of provolone cheese and added half of the sugar in the pasta sauce because we do like the tomatoes acidity taste. The chicken was so tender and the pasta sauce was very yummy. Served it with Crunchy Potato Wedges & Insanely Easy Tomato Salad - Thank you Lainey6605

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I can't describe how wonderful this recipe is. When I got the sauce going I was a little concerned because it tasted a little watered down. But I simmered it for about 6 hours, stirring occasionally and it turned into a beautiful thick rich and full of flavor sauce that was just awesome. I didn't have the fresh herbs so used 2 teaspoons dried of each (maybe a little more) and it worked out great. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar (actually splenda) and that seemed to work perfect for us. I did add a couple of teaspoons of salt to the mixture but other than that, nothing. The chicken was moist and juicy and was just awesome. I served this with a salad and homemade French bread. (no pasta)Thanks Lainey for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Chicken Parmigiana With Homemade Pasta Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1049.2
     
    Calories from Fat 465
    44%
    Total Fat 51.6 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 202.1 mg
    67%
    Sodium 4055.9 mg
    168%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 51.7 g
    207%
    Protein 64.7 g
    129%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes