17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Don't be put off the seemingly lengthy list of ingredients...it's a lot more simplistic than it looks...and it doesn't really require much effort to produce a tasty meal. This recipe makes a lot of sauce,so plenty left to freeze up for a quick fix dinner..always a bonus!! The chicken was beautifully moist and full of flavour,beautifully complimented by the sauce and cheese. Thanks Lainey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo July 02, 2010

halved the recipe and used dried herbs instead of fresh, it still turned out amazing and there was plenty left to make some pasta with

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattsullivan17 July 28, 2013

Delicious sauce that was great for this type of dish. The chicken was golden brown and tender, and the sauce and cheese sent it to another level for us. We loved it! Thanks Lainey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thurstondonnie August 25, 2009

It really didn't work for me. The sauce tasted way over cooked and the chicken was tough. You also don't say what temperature you baked it at. I think I did it at 350.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laby August 11, 2009

Totally delicious! I used dried Australian Bush Tomatoes instead of the tomato paste, omitted the red pepper flakes, used six chicken breasts (since I was cooking for two, it was either reduce to four for two meals or increase to six for three meals) and used white wine instead of water (all personal taste preferences) but wouldn't otherwise want to change anything in this recipe. Because I was making the pasta sauce for six chicken breasts, I simply was generous with all the ingredients in the pasta sauce, and the proportions worked out fine for the two meals I put in the freezer after step twelve. As suggested by Lainey, I served this with angel hair pasta to which I'd added some thawed and thoroughly squeeze-dried frozen spinach. Thanks, Lainey, for a yummy recipe. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 26, 2009

This was lovely! I let the sauce simmer for hours while I did the laundry (sigh). The only change I made was to add some sliced smoked Gouda to the cheeses on the chicken -- so good! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess July 26, 2008

I just made the sauce (not a big chicken fan :-) ) and it was delicious! Just what I was looking for - I did add a few links of italian sausage to make it heartier since I was just eating it over pasta, and used dried herbs since I don't keep them fresh. I will be making this again! For ZWT4 Flying Duchess'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 08, 2008

First words out of my DH mouth were, "Hon this has to be one of the best sauces you have ever made for us�. Comments like that say it all ~ I will be using this sauce for other dishes. No complaints on the chicken. For cheese I chose to use was mozzarella cheese. Enjoy~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE June 02, 2008

This is outstanding. We also love a sweet sauce and enjoyed this one immensely. The chicken came out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potions May 18, 2008

De-licious! I was looking for a pasta dish I could make ahead and didn't want to make yet another lasagna. So I made the sauce ahead and browned the chicken in the morning. Then I just assembled before baking. It also had the advantage of being lactose free (a portion without the cheeses, obviously) for one person who is allergic. I used crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes in place of the paste. I used only a small amount of sugar as I usually do, but I did add the tiniest pinch of baking soda as I usually do to cut the acidity. (Try it, it really works, but be careful that it is only a tiny bit. You can ruin your sauce if you use too much). We all really enjoyed this dish and plan to eat the left overs in sub buns (like a meatball sub, kind of thing). Thank you Lainey for a terrific recipe and for your advice about making it ahead! I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja March 22, 2008
My Chicken Parmigiana With Homemade Pasta Sauce