15 Reviews

I won't rate because I didn't follow the directions exactly - My overall result was pretty good but not great. Something was missing but I couldn't put my finger on it...

I added everything including the optional ingredients (um, since when is cardamom expensive? It's very inexpensive at any ethnic grocer), but I only used plain coffee creamer (2 1/2 cups) and added a scraped vanilla bean to the mix. All said and done, I had to do some tweeking to get it to a place that tasted right - I added the full amount of sugar plus some (since none of my coffee creamer had sugar in it, i guess?) and extra of most of the spices.

I separated the mix into little glass jars and added half of a vanilla bean (left over from scraping) to each to slowly infuse more vanilla. They look very pretty : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flatlanderinVT December 13, 2011

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH You have ruined me for-ev-ah. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 20, 2010

This is really great! I haven't had the chai tea from starbuck's, but DS has developed a liking for it. So I tasted it, and I'm sending him half of the mix to have at college. Thanks for sharing your lovely mix!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 13, 2010

This tastes almost like the Chai Tea Latte I get at Starbucks. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I was all out of allspice. I took some into work and my coworkers loved it too. This Chai Tea Mix would make a great gift and is going right into my keeper file. Thanks for sharing. Made for January, 2009 Bevy Tag. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

This is so good. I made half of this recipe and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 10, 2009

Made for Holiday Tag. I love all the spicy flavours in this tea...reminds me of my Indian friends...they made Chai for me so having this mix brings me back to good times with good friends.Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal December 28, 2008

Made a half batch as that's all I had enough instant tea for, lol. I would cut back on the sugar a bit next time. I added extra creamer & powdered milk for extra richness/creaminess. I love it! Please treat yourself to cardamom...it's really not much more expensive than most other spices! (btw, the mix is half gone in 3 days!) Made for 12/08 vegetarian swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo December 22, 2008

Made this up the other day & shared it with several friends, & we all agree it's well worth 5 stars! I did cut the sugar back to just a generous 1/2 cup & then included all of the spices listed ~ OUTSTANDING & certainly a keeper! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday!]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 21, 2008

This is fabulous! It's been a while since I had bought up the Safeway brand of chai latte mix, but when I went to buy some recently they didn't have it. I was disappointed til I founds this recipe. This is far better and rivals Starbucks for sure!<br/><br/>I like my chai with a bit of bite so I doubled the ginger. I also made mine without sugar. That gives people an option for sweetening their chai (assuming I share) I used 1/2 packet sweet n low.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropical Punch December 30, 2013

This was very good and my son loved it, it is not the Kuwait style chai tea that my son was use to, but it was good enough for him and me. My husband is not a tea drinker and did not like it but them he don't really have any taste buds for good coffee or teas. We will be making this again and I might play with it a bit to see what I can do with it. I found that boiling water is not a good idea for it makes the milk do funny thinks. We just run water through our k-cup maker and it is just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 December 18, 2012
My Chai Tea Mix Gift in a Jar