Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Chai Tea Mix Gift in a Jar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Chai Tea Mix Gift in a Jar

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2011

      I won't rate because I didn't follow the directions exactly - My overall result was pretty good but not great. Something was missing but I couldn't put my finger on it...

      I added everything including the optional ingredients (um, since when is cardamom expensive? It's very inexpensive at any ethnic grocer), but I only used plain coffee creamer (2 1/2 cups) and added a scraped vanilla bean to the mix. All said and done, I had to do some tweeking to get it to a place that tasted right - I added the full amount of sugar plus some (since none of my coffee creamer had sugar in it, i guess?) and extra of most of the spices.

      I separated the mix into little glass jars and added half of a vanilla bean (left over from scraping) to each to slowly infuse more vanilla. They look very pretty : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH You have ruined me for-ev-ah. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This is really great! I haven't had the chai tea from starbuck's, but DS has developed a liking for it. So I tasted it, and I'm sending him half of the mix to have at college. Thanks for sharing your lovely mix!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This tastes almost like the Chai Tea Latte I get at Starbucks. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I was all out of allspice. I took some into work and my coworkers loved it too. This Chai Tea Mix would make a great gift and is going right into my keeper file. Thanks for sharing. Made for January, 2009 Bevy Tag. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is so good. I made half of this recipe and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Made for Holiday Tag. I love all the spicy flavours in this tea...reminds me of my Indian friends...they made Chai for me so having this mix brings me back to good times with good friends.Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Made a half batch as that's all I had enough instant tea for, lol. I would cut back on the sugar a bit next time. I added extra creamer & powdered milk for extra richness/creaminess. I love it! Please treat yourself to cardamom...it's really not much more expensive than most other spices! (btw, the mix is half gone in 3 days!) Made for 12/08 vegetarian swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Made this up the other day & shared it with several friends, & we all agree it's well worth 5 stars! I did cut the sugar back to just a generous 1/2 cup & then included all of the spices listed ~ OUTSTANDING & certainly a keeper! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday!]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This is fabulous! It's been a while since I had bought up the Safeway brand of chai latte mix, but when I went to buy some recently they didn't have it. I was disappointed til I founds this recipe. This is far better and rivals Starbucks for sure!<br/><br/>I like my chai with a bit of bite so I doubled the ginger. I also made mine without sugar. That gives people an option for sweetening their chai (assuming I share) I used 1/2 packet sweet n low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      This was very good and my son loved it, it is not the Kuwait style chai tea that my son was use to, but it was good enough for him and me. My husband is not a tea drinker and did not like it but them he don't really have any taste buds for good coffee or teas. We will be making this again and I might play with it a bit to see what I can do with it. I found that boiling water is not a good idea for it makes the milk do funny thinks. We just run water through our k-cup maker and it is just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I used everything except the sugar. I thought the french vanilla creamer had enough sugar in it. I gave it as gifts and everyone has loved it! Thanks for this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Wow, wow, WOW! Move over Starbucks! This is amazing! I used all the spices on the list but subbed instant creamer for the powdered milk, I forgot to pick some up. I successfully halved the recipe but now I am shaking my head wondering why I didn't triple it! It's that good. I will definitely make more and share with friends. This is simply delightful! Thanks BakinBaby, this rocks my world!!! P. S. Splenda works great in this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Love it, love it, love it. This is a wonderful concoction. First I made a half a batch without the Cardamom (Because I didn't have any.). It was good, but the next batch with Cardamom was excellent. I made my batches without the sugar. I use splenda and wasn't sure what the food processor would do to it. The good thing about this is everyone could sweeten to their liking. Sugar substitute, plain sugar, honey etc. Usually about a teaspoon or so per cup Chai. The last one I used a touch of honey and a packet of splenda. Oh yummmm! Thanks BakinBaby for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      I want to make this as I have made it in the past.. it is wonderful but In Tasmania they do not have Instant Iced Tea..or Instant Tea at all.. Until I find a way to import it.. Im stuck. But when I visit the US..Look Out Starbucks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I made this thanks to Crafty Lady's suggestion and am so pleased with the results! I usually like my drinks pretty sweet and used 3/4 cup of sugar which seemed perfect to me. I had planned on giving some as a gift but it is going to be pretty hard to give this tasty delight up! Next time I might add even more spice. Thanks for the great recipe BAkin Baby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Chai Tea Mix Gift in a Jar

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.2
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    15%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    french vanilla non-dairy coffee creamer

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites