60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i picked this recipe to try to use up some of my overgrown zucchini from the garden and it is very delicious. i like the cinnamon and nutmeg and vanilla. the crust comes out nice and sticky and good. i think that some zucchini bread recipes don't have enough flavor, but this one definately does. the bread is perfectly dense and moist. very very good.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenrk June 26, 2002

This was my first time baking bread and it turned out great! Deliciously light and cakey, not very sweet. I substituted allspice for the nutmeg as I did not have any of the latter. I definitely would make this again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean33 March 16, 2003

My very picky eight year old daughter tried this zucchini bread and declared that, "It's delicious!" I agree. This recipe was very easy to follow, and I will definitely make it again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~*Jennifer*~* July 17, 2002

Even better than my Mom's recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Jay September 09, 2002

Perfect!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Permann August 02, 2002

Love LOVE Love this recipe! I made this last night with some over grown zuc's from my garden. I did not have any apple sauce so I took a can of light syrup peaches, drained half the syrup out then hand mashed them to a pulp. They mash easily and had a consistency like apple sauce. I also used pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I had on hand. This was DELISH! they had a great rise and wonderful flavor. They were also very moist. You could not taste peach in them at all :) Thanks Mizz!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen2806 September 16, 2009

Love the recipe, we always use this one :D thanks
plus we put this in the bread machine comes out just as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adiethecook October 28, 2012

Thank you for such a great recipe! It is so moist and the spices work well together. I had to do a few subsitutions, cinnamon applesauce and lemon for orange juice, but this is by far the best my husband or I have ever tasted, I didn't even get to freeze the second loaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SingingHarmony August 24, 2003

This is an excellent recipe. I peeled the zucchini, removed the seeds, then grated it. After grating it, I decided to wring the excess liquid out and dry it somewhat with paper towels because it was much too wet. I increased the vanilla to 1 Tablespoon and the nutmeg to 1 teaspoon and the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons. It was wonderful and the spices made the whole house smell great while it was cooking. This amount makes 6 mini loaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squeaky104 July 27, 2003

I Altered this a bit. I had some almond meal left from making macaroons so I used 1 c of almond meal with 2cups flour. I also used about 3/4c of coconut oil instead of veg oil and uses 3/4c drk brown sugar and 3/4c sugar in the raw. I made them as muffins... Didn't get the tops but boy are they good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JodiShephard August 09, 2013
My Best Zucchini Bread