13 Reviews

This was a nice marinade I used for grilled New York steaks. I marinated for about 24 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 10, 2010

This was a very nice marinade. I marinated my NY Strip for about 2 hours, then grilled it. I think next time I will let it marinade overnight to let my meat absorb more of the flavors. 4 stars for my short marinating time, but 5 stars for the possibilities! Made for Zaar Stars! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 18, 2009

This is a nice rich marinade. I marinaded my steaks overnight, cooked them on the George Foremen grill and they turned out very tender. Made for *Potluck Tag Fall 2009* game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 07, 2009

Quick and easy and produced a tender steak. I'm only giving it 3 stars because I didn't think it had any flavor at all. I marinated our steak for 24 hours. DH thought it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA September 06, 2009

Oh boy was this a great marinade! I used it on a couple of steaks, marinating for about 2 hours, and what wonderful flavor. I look forward to trying it on a roast too as other reviewers have done. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 29, 2009

Wonderful marinade!!!! I think by bringing it to a boil and simmer for a few minutes really brings out the flavors and makes for a better marinade. I made this as written but only half the recipe to use on a small flank steak. Thanks for sharing this great recipe Gailann!!! Made for Holiday Tag!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 10, 2009

Wow, this is a great marinade. I did have intensions of marinating a lovely piece of Gerello beef, for 2-3 hours. BUT DS's car broke down and we got home late and the 2-3 hour marinating was history! lol I marinated for about 1 hour and the meat turned out so beautiful. It was tender and moist and such a great taste. The family loved it, even DD loved it, she who turned up her nose at red wine being used! DS raved about it all night! I used the left over marinade over the roast during cooking and then used the juices for a gravy, the gravy turned out so rich and had a great flavour. I will be using this again and again, DS wont let me forget this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme July 05, 2009

Only an hour and a half of marinating time didn't go to waste! This was delicious and I will marinate for longer next time. Also, the steaks are a lovely pink colour! :) Thanks for the terrific marinade recipe Gailann! Made for 1~2~3 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 04, 2009

This marinade is so good! Had a two pound eye of round roast that I marinated in a ziploc bag in the fridge for about 2 hours. Put the roast with the marinade in the oven and it was tender and juicy with great flavor. I was a little worried about to strong of a flavor for us but we enjoyed the roast a lot. Will make this again when we are putting together something for the grill. Thank you gailanng for posting one of your favorite marinade recipes. Made and reviewed for the Australia/NewZealand Forums Recipe Swap #29.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 28, 2009

Great marinade plus so much more! I marinated a roast for about 3 hrs and then put the roast in the crock pot and put the marinade right in there with it. I also added a packet of french onion soup mix to the crock. When I came home from work, I could smell the wonderful aromas coming from my house before I even got the front door open! I used the juices and made the most amazing mushroom gravy! The flavors from the marinade really added something special to the gravy. I served the meat with garlic mashed baby red potatoes. What a great meal! We really enjoyed this so much. Thanks Gailann!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night June 20, 2009
My Best Wine Marinade