11 Reviews

I just finished making this tonight. My first time making any kind of Indian food. So....after I practically licked my plate clean I decided to review this recipe. This is such an easy recipe and the flavours of the spices blend beautifully. I used Nanak Paneer that I purchase from an Indian grocery store (that brand was recommended to me by an Indian lady I work with. Can't wait to have the left overs for lunch tomorrow! The only change I made was to add a splash of cream just at the end, gave it a nice creamy texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom May 03, 2010

Excellent. I added a half cup of cream as one reviewer suggested and it was awesome. I also don't know how this could be called bland. I'm wondering if some reviewers have the wrong spices or forgot something. Also I found a great and easy Garam Masala recipe online so search that name and then you can make your own no problem. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyTexCan July 05, 2013

I deep fried the paneer because I always have trouble with it sticking to the pan. I kept half of it out of the sauce because I knew it would ruin the crispiness, but I wanted to see what it would be like. It was much better crispy. I also let it cook a little longer than I should have and the peas were overcooked. The sauce had good flavor, but was a little...off, somehow. Probably my fault, but I wouldn't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo May 16, 2013

I did many things wrong in this recipe. I made it without the peas, and I used minced dried onion instead of fresh. I doubled the garlic and added about 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon. I also missed the step about setting aside the paneer, so it was included in the entire process. Geesh! We stirred in fresh cilantro at the end and garnished the dish with more cilantro and sliced banana. It was good but a little bland. The Mister loved it. I'll try it again and follow the recipe exactly next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MilliMoMo June 15, 2010

This was very tasty, I made it exactly as written. It was nice and spicy without being too hot. My meat-eating husband and fussy toddler both loved it too. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang April 23, 2010

Was my first time making Indian. Seemed like something was missing, so I added 1 cup plain yogurt and cooked additional 5 min. Helped it a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwav January 05, 2009

Terrific recipe! Thanks Sackville, we really loved this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee November 17, 2008

It's really delicious. The cheese go well with the source.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acalephtw May 28, 2008

Wow, was this good. I had some store-bought paneer that I wanted to try. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used canned diced tomatoes. I would say it was a bit salty, and next time I will probably use half the salt. I gave it just a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and ate it with whole wheat pita as I was too lazy to make bread. It makes two very hearty servings. Of course the calorie count listed has to be off because of the oil, but it's still a reasonably healthy dish. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 March 09, 2008

This was fabulous! I am a complete novice when it comes to cooking Indian food but I was able to follow these directions and the results were perfect. I doubled the recipe and I'm glad that I did. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas September 16, 2006
Mutter Paneer -- Indian Cheese Curry