12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Jen we really love this. I served with Kiwidutch Andria's Best Corned Beef/ Silverside on the Planet. Best Corned Beef/ Silverside on the Planet. and used the stock from the corn beef. Because the stock was quite strong in flavour I did increase the mustard powder to 2 teaspoons. Very yummy and a definite keeper for us! Thanks for posting :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 30, 2006

Thank you so much for adding this recipe, I have had my cookbook for long that I have lost this page and was heart broken thinking I would never use this recipe again. I have used it for years and thanks to you can use it for a lots more. I highly recommend this mustard sauce above all others :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DolphsLdy October 18, 2004

This is a New Zealand classic and it is fun to tweak it your own way but please note that the original recipe is always made with "MALT" vinegar here in NZ.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pherrit November 11, 2011

Great base for sauce, I added one tablespoon whole grain mustard and cut the sugar back a little. I also added a teaspoon of prepared horseradish. Really easy sauce thanks! Oh yea I used applecider vinegar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Jon Chef May 22, 2008

Great sauce! Made a lovely addition to our Easter table. I also added a teaspoon of whole grain mustard as suggested by another reviewer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lille March 23, 2008

Perfect!! I used on JanS's Corned Beef #94980 served with mashed spuds and veg....it made for a perfect meal. I made as directed but couldn't help adding in a heaped tsp of wholegrain mustard also. Thanks for sharing YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie August 16, 2006

This is a really great sauce for three reasons. First, it's super fast to make. Second, it's super easy to make. And third, it's super delicious!! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear August 03, 2006

I read all the reviews and thought this must be good. It wasn't. Far too sweet and and too much vinegar.I added more mustard so I could actually taste it but it was overpowered by the sugar and vinegar. I threw it away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
victoriah80 July 10, 2014

Excellent mustard sauce; I used it instead of a bbq sauce with some little smoked sausages. My family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Mettam February 10, 2010
Mustard Sauce