11 Reviews

This is the first chicken crusted with cornflakes that I could give 5 stars to! Everyone eating tonight loved it. I doubled the recipe, but decreased the amount of mustard by 1/2 (after doubling) because of children's preferences. I don't think I really needed to double the sour cream/mustard sauce, as I ended up throwing most of that away. I also decreased the amount of thyme, but mine was fresh dried from the garden! The taste was yummy!!! I will definitely make this recipe again. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 08, 2009

Finally, a cornflake chicken recipe with real flavor! We always loved the crunch factor, but the taste was lacking something. I omitted the yellow mustard & used 3 Tbsp. Dijon. Then I let the chicken stand 10 mins. before rolling in crumbs. Very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate April 08, 2009

Awesome recipe!! We used breadcrumbs, not having corn flakes. Also, substituting Basil for dried thyme. It was excellent! Anetka, and her mom fix the absolute best schnitzel in the world, but this recipe might be in there not too far behind. I can't wait to fix it again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jon and anetka January 22, 2008

This was great! I had 2 kinda thick b/s chicken breasts so I cut them in half lengthwise and got 4 fillets out of it. Made with lite sour cream and the rest of the ingredients as listed. Even 5 yr DS who said when he saw it "I don't like THAT chicken" had seconds! Made for Everyday Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 06, 2011

This was very tasty with a satisfying crunch. There was a lot of sour cream mixture left over but the cornflakes very used up. I didn't drizzle the butter over top to lower the fat content a bit and the chicken was baked 45 minutes. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 02, 2009

Am sure these would have tasted differently if I'd used plain ol' corn flakes, but instead I used honey bunches of oats, believe it or not, & the chicken breasts tasted just great! I particularly enjoyed the combo of sour cream, Dijon mustard (the honey kind!) & thyme! I'll definitely be keeping this recipe around! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday!]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 26, 2009

This was great! I made as directed, but like another reviewer had to double the crumb mixture. i baked it for about 40-45 minutes and that was perfect. thanks so much for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo December 30, 2008

Delicious. I used cut boneless,skinless. I had to double the amount of cornflake crumbs. This recipe is so great. Dh loved it. I think this would also be good on pork chops!! Wonderful recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 18, 2008

The only thing I would change of this recipe is the baking time - it came out a bit burned - but the taste is WONDERFUL!! Used low-fat sour cream and some "healthy" corn flakes I had! Thanks BakinBaby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie December 13, 2008

Wowza! Delicious chicken. I couldn't keep myself from scraping up the bits of coating in the pan after dinner was over so I finally had to pour water in the pan to keep myself from indulging. The coating gets a bit of tang from the sour cream and a crunch from the corn flakes. I used 3 chicken breasts and added 1/4 cup more crushed crumbs. Next time, I'll cut the butter in half to cut on the calories. DBF liked this one too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog December 08, 2008
Mustard Baked Sour Cream Chicken II