Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mussels Josephine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mussels Josephine

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2009

      If you like Bonefish's Mussels Josephine you should really try this recipe. My wife and I think its the exact recipe. I used a tiny airline size bottle of Sambuca instead of buying a regular bottle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I made this last night and my husband said they tasted just like the recipe from the restaurant which is also our favorite place to eat. We did replace the sambuca with anisette. When we were dining at the restaurant I asked the waitress what that fabulous taste in the dish was. She asked the cook who told us it was Bols Anisette. We could not find that specific brand so we used another brand. Anyway, the recipe was wonderful. Will try the bang bang shrimp tonight. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      AMAZING, ROMANTIC, OMG Everyone should try this recipe! What a great way to celebrate any special occasion, Valentines Day, Anniversary or just being with the one (s) you love. You gotta love them though or you will NOT share ANY! IT is THAT good! This sauce would be really amazing on pasta and was so delish I was slurping it up like mad! Next time I think I will double it- just bc it was so amazing! There was plenty there for the mussels and the tons of bread I dipped into it! BUT MAN OH MAN the sauce is SOO GOOOD! You just want more and more! I used a pint- 16 oz- of home grown home canned tomatoes - instead of the 14 oz but that was the only thing I did differently. DEFINITELY add the liquor- it really adds to this dish! The tomatoes and garlic and onions ~ oh my! The only flaw in this dish is that I couldnt get enough of it- even tho I HURT myself I ate so much- it is so outstanding you just want MORE! Superior, Amazing, Outstanding, ooo somebody get me a Thesaurus! I could go on and on! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe Cheryl! you should be very proud to call it yours! This is so "lick the bowl good!" I will be making this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      These are absolutely delicious mussels. I made two changes--one minor--I used ouzo instead of Sambucca, so less sweet and less syrupy, and one larger change--I add an entire can (14 ounces) of organic tomatoes, chopped with their juice. In part, the additional tomato replaced the sweetness lost with the Sambucca, However, it also corrected what I view as the only flaw in this fabulous dish--not enough liquid to provide a backdrop for the mussels. I also added a good hit of fresh ground pepper and a bit of coarse sea salt. I used two pounds of mussels (didn't count them)and the resulting dish was two very generous servings. It is mandatory that you serve this with bread for mopping up every bit of the sauce and onion and garlic (and tomato). Thanks, Cheryl! Truly superior.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      These don't taste anything like the ones we frequently enjoy at Bonefish. Way too much lemon. Back to the drawing board I say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      This is phenomenal, and phenomenally easy to prepare. It tastes exactly like the dish they reference, with one change - instead of 1/3 CUP of lemon juice for the lemon butter, we used 3 tablespoons. The former left the sauce way to lemony for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I made this for Valentine's Day. We have been staying at a hotel, so I had to substitute some ingredients and leave some out, but it was still awesome. I used cooking wine instead of regular and left out the Pernod. I also had to use the "fresh herbs" that come in a tube and tomato puree since my husband will not eat tomatoes. The left-overs were good heated under the broiler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      I didn't add the tomatoes as a personal prefence but oh boy, oh boy was this good. The sambuca adds a heavenly flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This was very good! I made one change - I mixed all the ingredients in the pan first, including my pre-made lemon butter, cooked it down a wee bit, then added the mussels, tossing them in the juices. I then clamped the lid on it and let the mussels cook until they opened. At the last minute I sprinkled some chopped fresh cilantro over it all, gave the mussels a final toss, and spooned them and the sauce over plates of fettucine pasta. I found the dish was missing a bit of zing, so next time I might add a few hot pepper flakes, or a teeny spoon of chili paste. Otherwise, it was yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Yes! Excellent dish! Looking forward to the next time. Would like some clarity on the amounts of butter in the lemon butter sauce though. Yum-o!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      my husband and i loved this recipe so much that we are making it again tonight! I am adding scallops and shrimp this time and maybe a little extra wine. Alane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      We enjoyed this dish. The sambucca adds just the right sweetness to the sauce. I served over linguine and used the butter sauce for dipping crusty bread. Very easy & quick. NEQ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mussels Josephine

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 693.9
     
    Calories from Fat 375
    54%
    Total Fat 41.7 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 23.2 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 172.1 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1147.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 39.6 g
    79%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambuca romana

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites