24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this to be very 'savory'. I think that maybe the addition of sea salt may boost it up for us. Definitely a recipe to make again while tweaking it to our tastes. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe September 22, 2010

Awesome and simple. I used fresh Marjoram and Rosemary and also an herb gariic butter. Used good sourdough toast to soak up all the buttery, herby broth.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smeckling July 19, 2009

We have a local restaurant that is known for their fabulous mussels . Well let me tell you not any more. Everyone knows if you want reastaurant quality mussels you come to my house. These are marvelous. I use a cheap dry white cooking wine and they are still to die for. The first time I made them I ate two pounds on my own and used half a loaf of bread for the juice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom February 22, 2010

This was so easy and was AMAZING. I had never cooked mussels before and this was so easy. Best of all my company was very impressed - they couldn't stop talking about how delicious it was! Next time I'd serve some French bread to soak up and eat the broth - it was too good to leave in the bowl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarajared May 18, 2008

Too much butter it was over oily/buttery, not specific with herbs. If you follow this recipe cut the butter in half, about 30-40g is enough and go for herbs that aren't so sweet. But the method is spot on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pilotsh April 12, 2015

I don't care how many rapturous reviews you have for this recipe: the broth tastes terrible cooked this way. There are many recipes for mussels on the internet and they all agree that you should saute the shallots and garlic in butter (or olive oil) before adding the white wine etc. Otherwise you are simply boiling them and they turn out bitter. Addition of cream might help but why do it this way? It is interesting the number of reviewers who say they loved the recipe and yet they changed it substantially. Apparently boiled onions can substitute for boiled shallots. I never usually write reviews but in this case I would like to save people from this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lawrence W. May 07, 2014

I made this for a party. OMG....even the kids who sneak in...LOVED these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdavis26 May 02, 2013

It was Great!! I had been always making my Mussels as Marinara, and tried this recipe last night, although I didn't use drinking wine. I used white cooking wine..and I used salted butter..(Didn't feel like going into the basement to get the unsalted), and used onions, as I didn't have scallions or shallots. I also didn't have green garlic and used regular garlic. I loved , loved, loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
propac7 February 18, 2013

I thought that I loved clams and oysters, but this recipe has changed my taste preference. This by far the best mussel recipe that I have tried. I did use dry herbs instead of fresh for convience and Dry Vermouth and found they compliment it very well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dapperbob February 03, 2011

this was awesome. the whole family enjoyed it - and it's not easy to get them all to agree on a meal. plus it was easy to make with clear directions. i substituted dried herbs because I couldn't get to the market and it was fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
notacook22 April 21, 2010
Mussels in White Wine and Garlic