Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mussels in White Wine and Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mussels in White Wine and Garlic

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2010

      I found this to be very 'savory'. I think that maybe the addition of sea salt may boost it up for us. Definitely a recipe to make again while tweaking it to our tastes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Awesome and simple. I used fresh Marjoram and Rosemary and also an herb gariic butter. Used good sourdough toast to soak up all the buttery, herby broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      We have a local restaurant that is known for their fabulous mussels . Well let me tell you not any more. Everyone knows if you want reastaurant quality mussels you come to my house. These are marvelous. I use a cheap dry white cooking wine and they are still to die for. The first time I made them I ate two pounds on my own and used half a loaf of bread for the juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This was so easy and was AMAZING. I had never cooked mussels before and this was so easy. Best of all my company was very impressed - they couldn't stop talking about how delicious it was! Next time I'd serve some French bread to soak up and eat the broth - it was too good to leave in the bowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I don't care how many rapturous reviews you have for this recipe: the broth tastes terrible cooked this way. There are many recipes for mussels on the internet and they all agree that you should saute the shallots and garlic in butter (or olive oil) before adding the white wine etc. Otherwise you are simply boiling them and they turn out bitter. Addition of cream might help but why do it this way? It is interesting the number of reviewers who say they loved the recipe and yet they changed it substantially. Apparently boiled onions can substitute for boiled shallots. I never usually write reviews but in this case I would like to save people from this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      I made this for a party. OMG....even the kids who sneak in...LOVED these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      It was Great!! I had been always making my Mussels as Marinara, and tried this recipe last night, although I didn't use drinking wine. I used white cooking wine..and I used salted butter..(Didn't feel like going into the basement to get the unsalted), and used onions, as I didn't have scallions or shallots. I also didn't have green garlic and used regular garlic. I loved , loved, loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      I thought that I loved clams and oysters, but this recipe has changed my taste preference. This by far the best mussel recipe that I have tried. I did use dry herbs instead of fresh for convience and Dry Vermouth and found they compliment it very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      this was awesome. the whole family enjoyed it - and it's not easy to get them all to agree on a meal. plus it was easy to make with clear directions. i substituted dried herbs because I couldn't get to the market and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Oh my gosh! It was the best...simple and yet very flavorful. Best Recipe. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making mussels. Over all it was pretty good but my husband and I thought it needed more of a garlic flavour. I even added more garlic than what the recipe called for. I also wish it had more of a cream base like restaurant style mussels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This recipe was great! I will make this a regular dish for the upcoming holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Yes, this is a great recipe, but don't forget to save the broth to make a chowder!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This is my FAVE way to cook and eat mussels..a great classic and saucy bowl of steamed mussels with just the right amount of butter, garlic, herbs, and wine. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      We used fresh clams for this and it was very nice. I added some chili powder and chili flakes. I also added some chopped celery and added some chopped onion to the mix. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      The smells and the textures were great, but there were something missing, I am thinking it was a little spice kick. Next time, I'll use hot chili. Thank you for the posting. Very easy, simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

    • on March 29, 2006

      WOW - Absolutely magnificant and straight into our favourites cookbook to be made often. Extrememly easy to cook. Dave used fresh basil, coriander, parsley, garlic chives and 1/2 teaspoon chilli. The mussel were just sooo juicy. Make sure to have heaps of fresh bread to mop up the juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This is the first time I have ever made a mussel dish and this recipe was great! I served them over a bed of fresh spinach just wilted with boiling water. I used fresh dill and fresh thyme for the fresh herb element as it was all I had on hand. I think I could half the ingredients for the sauce as there is so much left over! I did add a touch of cream to the sauce as well to give it a fuller body. I would also say that the prep time for this is a lot more than is stated cleaning all those shells! All in all, I would make this recipe again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Wonderful, simple recipe. This is the way mussels should be made. Thank you for posting, I will be using this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mussels in White Wine and Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 659.1
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    37%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 173.1 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1752.1 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 55.0 g
    110%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed fresh herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites