28 Reviews

I found this to be very 'savory'. I think that maybe the addition of sea salt may boost it up for us. Definitely a recipe to make again while tweaking it to our tastes. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe September 22, 2010

We have a local restaurant that is known for their fabulous mussels . Well let me tell you not any more. Everyone knows if you want reastaurant quality mussels you come to my house. These are marvelous. I use a cheap dry white cooking wine and they are still to die for. The first time I made them I ate two pounds on my own and used half a loaf of bread for the juice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom February 22, 2010

Awesome and simple. I used fresh Marjoram and Rosemary and also an herb gariic butter. Used good sourdough toast to soak up all the buttery, herby broth.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smeckling July 19, 2009

I don't care how many rapturous reviews you have for this recipe: the broth tastes terrible cooked this way. There are many recipes for mussels on the internet and they all agree that you should saute the shallots and garlic in butter (or olive oil) before adding the white wine etc. Otherwise you are simply boiling them and they turn out bitter. Addition of cream might help but why do it this way? It is interesting the number of reviewers who say they loved the recipe and yet they changed it substantially. Apparently boiled onions can substitute for boiled shallots. I never usually write reviews but in this case I would like to save people from this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lawrence W. May 07, 2014

This recipe was excellent. I made a half recipe only. I also made 2 additions to this recipe by adding 2 large bayleaves and 1 cup of sherry cooking wine. To say the least the aroma while cooking made one's mouth water. I served the mussels with the juice and ciabatta bread. This was perfect to match. The juice to tasty to ignore. I will use this recipe many more times in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salbinegar June 22, 2015

Just delicious 5 stars one of the best mussle recipes I've ever done

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve.hale01 May 06, 2015

Too much butter it was over oily/buttery, not specific with herbs. If you follow this recipe cut the butter in half, about 30-40g is enough and go for herbs that aren't so sweet. But the method is spot on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pilotsh April 12, 2015

I made this for a party. OMG....even the kids who sneak in...LOVED these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdavis26 May 02, 2013

This was so easy and was AMAZING. I had never cooked mussels before and this was so easy. Best of all my company was very impressed - they couldn't stop talking about how delicious it was! Next time I'd serve some French bread to soak up and eat the broth - it was too good to leave in the bowl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarajared May 18, 2008

So good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolly D. November 02, 2015
Mussels in White Wine and Garlic