11 Reviews

Might be an oldie for you Chia, for me this was new! The combination of the ingredients that made the sauce were great. Thanks for posting this because we eat mussels quite often and I will make this recipe again! BTW..at time of writing this review it says in the ingredients, a 28 oz can of whole tomato puree, I took that for tomatoes and you might want to have that corrected, its probably a computer mistake?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us September 07, 2003

Yummy. I love the sauce. Perfectly seasoned..I followed the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB November 26, 2011

I made this yesterday for my BF and father and they told me it was very good.Thanks for the recipe Chia!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy May 02, 2009

Excellent! My picky stepson loved it, and DH, who hates mussels, at least loved the sauce. Really easy with a food processor to mince the garlic and chop the olives. Quick, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chakrates December 22, 2008

Very nice !!!!! The only thing I would change in the basic recipe is the amount of olive oil. A great recipe that can be adaptable for most seafood as well as chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bogie1234 December 10, 2008

This is excellent!I haven't had Fra Diavlo in so long. I followed exactly (but cut the recipe in half) and added a dozen shrimp. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks July 01, 2008

Did cut this recipe in half since it was made for just 2 adult neighbors who enjoy what I call the unusual seafoods! I've never made a mussel dish, so felt compelled to follow ingredients & directions rather closely! Although I didn't eat this dish, my friends enjoyed it greatly & wanted a copy of the recipe for their kids, so . . . Since I can't give you 5 thumbs up, I'll just settle for 5 stars! Great recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Italy on Zaar's World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 30, 2008

I was scared because I never do well with seafood, but this was spectacular! I will make it again...no one else but me likes mussels so I get leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Meaney-DeMarsh March 26, 2007

This was DELICIOUS! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. If you are going to make this for two, I would suggest roughly halfing the recipe... It made for a lovely dinner "à deux"...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBrigitte February 10, 2007

I didn't realize how great this recipe was until I tried different ones and kept wanting to come back to this! The capers and olive give the liquid an amazing taste, and add that to the garlic and you got a winner. Some of my family found it spicy, but it was perfect for my taste. You just gotta give it a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steveo. May 12, 2006
Mussels Fra Diavola