14 Reviews

made these as a side dish for breakfast with egg, bacon and grilled tomatoes, and everyone loved it. I did add a sprinkle of parmasen cheese to mine, and that was good too :) made for Aussie swap, June 2013

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills July 01, 2013

These were nice and simple. We actually paired them to a peppery steak and garlic rice, and it was a great combo. But I could happily eat these with toasted points! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo October 08, 2012

Wonderful! I love mushrooms and these were simple and great. I made them as directed and they made a great little appetizer. They were so good that I made them again to go along with a steak. Thanks Mikekey for a great new keeper. Congrats on your Football Pool win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 01, 2012

Breathtaking! I have this cookbook on my shelf, and I've never made this recipe...shame on me! Fabulous! Made exactly as posted, except I halved the recipe....wanted to add garlic, but restrained to stay true to the recipe! I used toasted french bread instead of regular bread. I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 11, 2009

So good!!!! This is absolutely terrific on a good steak. We really enjoyed it with Grilled T-Bone Steaks and New Potatoes with Vinaigrette. I made this as listed but I only had milk so I simmered it for about 15 minutes to thicken. Made for my adopted chef for Fall 2009 PAC. Thanks mikekey! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif September 15, 2009

Made for holiday tag. Simple and oh so tasty...we LOVE mushrooms! Lovely side with our steak and mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal May 07, 2009

I just wanted a simple supper tonight, nothing fancy, so I made some fresh mashed potatoes, and made these mushrooms in cream. They remind me of the mushrooms our mother used to make, also over mashed potatoes, but without the cream Mmmmmm. I used regular button mushrooms, an odd portabella I still had, and then also some rehydrated thinly sliced exotic mushrooms. Mmmmm. Hit the spot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte March 23, 2009

So simple, this is what I like out of a recipe! I did put in some garlic at the beginning and some chopped chives at the end, and it was a great filling for our crepes. I wish I'd made more as we ate it very easily and I would have loved to eat the leftovers for breakfast like Pat did! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee March 22, 2009

The DH said it was definately one of the better ZAAR mushroom recipes I have tried, I made as per but it took about 15 minutes on a bare simmer for it to get to a thick texture which suited me. I served this over a sirloin steak (for me) and on the side for everyone else and we all enjoyed. I've just enough left over to give me a serve on toast tomorrow for breakfast :yummy: Thank you mikekey, made for Edition 7 - Make My Recipe, Aussie forum. UPDATE - heated up the left overs and had with a slice of buttered wholemeal grain bread, oh heaven for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 02, 2009

My DH thanks you!! He loves mushrooms and this dish was devoured by him! And yes, I did get to eat some too!! I used baby portobello and white mushrooms, added a touch of garlic (could not help myself as stated by another reviewer!) Quick to prepare and delicious to eat. I served this with buttered toast. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada October 04, 2007
Mushrooms in Cream