15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfectly fluffy and tender omelet with amazing flavor. The mushroom and swiss combination is always a winner, but the thyme and chives really make it special. I added a bit of shredded cheddar and caramelized onion as well just because I had em :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs June 23, 2011

Yum! This was simple and had a really nice mix of ingredients. I had a little trouble flipping it, but it still tasted great. Thanks Rita for sharing. Made for ZWT7 for the Emerald City Shakers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 19, 2011

This was really good. Made for ZWT7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 15, 2011

I had this for breakfast this morning and it was very nice, I'm sorry my picture isn't quite as nice as yours as I am absolutely rubbish at flipping or turning eggs I sort of slid half out the pan on a plate and flipped it then put it back for a minute, a bit messy but the taste made up for it. It was a very nice balance of flavours not to much hot pepper but the thyme and the chives went well with my cheese very yummy nice and soft in the middle. I didn't have swiss cheese so I used cheddar with black pepper and it was so nice that and my lovely eggs from my chooks made a very nice breakfast. Thank you for posting made for Honor thy Mother the diabetic forum, May 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny May 15, 2011

Oh, wow. I made the recipe exactly as written and in the end I had one mighty tasty omelet. In particular, the button mushrooms I used meshed quite well with the thyme and red pepper flakes to create such a great savory-garden complement to the omelet base. I'll make this again and I won't change a thing. Thanks for another "keeper", ~Rita~.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal May 04, 2010

This is one great recipe!! I loved the addition of garlic, pepper flakes, and thyme. The directions were easy to follow and it was quick to make. I only made half the recipe and had no problems with folding. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Switzerland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 18, 2011

We enjoyed this recipe. I did add a few things and I did change the cheese to cheddar since that is what I had on hand. I added some onion,green pepper and alittle chopped ham. I lefted out the thyme cause DH and I really don't care for it. The flavor of the garlic really set the omelet off though. Its a keeper! Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. July 01, 2007

No problem rating this recipe - excellent flavor. The herbs with the mushrooms give a surge of lovely taste treats. I used cheddar cheese - I didn't have swiss on hand. Will make again with Swiss. Thanks Rita for a lovely Sunday Brunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 01, 2007

I with LonghornMama, this makes a very substantial meal. I used cremini mushrooms which provided a wonderful meaty texture to the omelet and probably used a touch more of cheese. The combination of fresh herbs is outstanding and something I will repeat. The directions are well written and very easy to follow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 31, 2007

I made this with skim milk in place of cream and with reduced-fat swiss cheese and I still loved it. How could I help it when it has garlic and thyme, two of my alltime favorite flavors?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo June 14, 2006
Mushroom Swiss Cheese Omelet