Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mushroom Stroganoff on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mushroom Stroganoff on Toast

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2010

      I just loved this recipe! Only thing I did different was to do a bit more garlic as others had suggested. This was a near PERFECT recipe for any mushroom lover. Heck, I could easily eat this for breakfast over toast or a biscuit. Thanks for sharing. Was glad to see the previous review when I got home today. I had all indgredients on hand, and it turned out as wonderful as I expected.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      Really enjoyed this super easy dish. I used frozen garlic texas toast and precut mushrooms so the prep time was about 0. Gotta love it! Thanks for the great recipe Sarah-Jayne.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Just made this for lunch and my 6 year old is in heaven! Very yummy! I added a little milk because the sauce was a little thick (but then again I didn't measure anything, I just put in rough estimates lol). I didnt have any chives, so I'll have to make sure to have them on hand next time. I think a little bacon and a tiny bit of all natural Worcestershire sauce would make this pretty much perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      I cooked the mushrooms in oil and garlic rather than garlic butter, and only used the 4 Tsp of sour cream. Great lunch/snack, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

    • on June 11, 2010

      I did alter the recipe desiring to save some calories. Per other reviews added 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 cup sweet onion and used dijon mustard. Only used 1 T butter to saute mushrooms, onion and garlic in. Also subbed fat free greek yogurt for the sour cream. Did not serve over toast but crumbled a Thomas Everything Bagel thin into the mix. It was a yummy low cal dinner for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Delicious! I used Italian bread instead of whole grain and added dried chives and parsley at the end. I'm looking forward to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      superb. I absolutely loved it, i made it twice tonight :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I'm a mushroom lover myself, so I had to try this out. It was fantastic, I added in some finally chopped bacon that I cooked on the side and some chopped onions, it turned out great!!! I WILL keep this in my favourites. Thank-you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This was pretty good but a little bland for us. I think next time I would use shallots and garlic to add flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      on my own at the moment, so this was a great dinner! I dont like grain bread, (and didnt have any) so just used white. I think it would have been better with a nice slab of Italian loaf though! wonderful combo! nov swap

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Great concept! Made this for dinner last night. My bf and I are both huge mushroom lovers so you can't go wrong there, but we felt the sauce was a bit to sour for our tastes. (I know, what do you expect with sour cream, right?) He suggested that next time I add cream cheese to make it a little creamier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is simply scrumptious and so easy! I used dijon mustard for an extra kick, and lots of sour cream, so it was almost like creamy mushroom soup on whole wheat toast. This is definitely a repeat for quick dinners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      We ate these as a truly scrumptious lunch on toasted ciabatta. The only change I made was to add 2 cloves of finely minced garlic, 1/2 a finely minced onion and some thyme to the mushrooms in the pan. I used a reduced fat sour cream, as I've never found using this reduces the creaminess or flavour. A wonderful meal for mushroom lovers! This mixture could also be used to make very tasty appetisers, on perhaps bread bases (crusts removed), oven-cooked in muffin pans, then add the mushroom stroganoff to serve. Made for the Went to Market tag game. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sarah_Jayne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Simple and delicious! A lovely lunch for two. Thanks Sarah_Jayne, this is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Yum! I had just enough mushrooms at home to make this for brunch. The flavour was really nice and it was so easy to prepare. Thank you Sarah_Jayne - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      What a brilliant little recipe! Loved that it was just mushrooms. Added lots of freshly-cracked black pepper. A delightful lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mushroom Stroganoff on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.5
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    44%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 169.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic butter

    coarse grain mustard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes