Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mushroom Sauce for Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mushroom Sauce for Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2009

      My husband and I made this (with apple juice) as a make ahead sauce for meatballs for our 2008 Xmas party. We didn't get to have our party due to an emergency c-section so it sat in the freezer for about a month. We got it out and decided to serve it with meatballs over egg noodles. I just loved it and was so happy it made enough for several meals. If I remember correctly, we ended up adding a can of cream of mushroom soup to help thicken to our liking. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is a very good sauce for meatballs. I freeze precooked meatballs and make the sauce the day I serve them. I use a spaghetti sauce, a barbecue sauce, or this sauce. It tastes best if you use the wine rather than the apple juice. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      this is a recipe that has been 'hanging out' in my 'to try' list and last night was finally the night. I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and did not use juice or wine (I had left it out of my scribbled written recipes). I was pleasantly surprised by the rich taste of it especially since I skimped on the butter and used skim milk. My only regret is that I didn't try it when the store had mushrooms for .69/8 oz package...I would have made several batches for the freezer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      i didn't care for the strange taste the apple juice gave it. we just didn't care for it- sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Awesome stuff! I made your basic pork chops with stuffing (shhh..out of a box!) and topped it with the sauce, baked in the oven for about 30 minutes. My husband asked what the special occasion was!! An 8 oz pkg of mushroom chopped up made about 3 cups. Putting leftovers in the freezer. A FANTASTIC substitution to the ol' cream of mushroom with milk sauce. Oh, and I didn't have worcestershire sauce, so I used a scant 1/2 t. soy sauce...just skimp on the salt down the line. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This was an excellent recipe, I made it to accompany meat loaf and mashed potatoes, those plates were scraped clean! I'll definitely be making it again.. often! I used white wine rather than the apple juice! Thanks for a great recipe, Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      YUM! This was delicious, the flavors are so rich, it tastes like it was a lot harder to make than it was. I doubled my batch and have some waiting in the freezer. I think it would be good over pork chops or chicken as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Great recipe. Easy and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      I really loved this sauce. I ended up using chicken broth in place of the juice (dh had it all somehow). Also added 2 tsp of worchestershire sauce. Froze it during my last oamc session w/ meatballs. Defrosted today, and warmed it in the microwave. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      To me the sauce tasted milky and bland. I added rosemary, thyme and a little dijon mustard with a delicious result! Thanks for the freezeable recipe for using up mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      I made this when I had a ton of mushrooms and didn't know what to do with them. I froze it for later and the results even after freezing were so moreish! I served it over 'Hubby Will Inhale Them Meatballs', Hubby-Will-Inhale-Them Meatballs and mashed potatoes; it was gone in no time! I will certainly make this again as I'm sure it will go well with veggies as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      We had this for dinner, not with meatballs, but with a lentil roast. It was superb. I used soy milk in place of the milk due to allergies and apple juice concentrate and water as I didn't have any apple juice, but it worked well. I found myself eating the leftover with a spoon. Thanks Pamela.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      I was really excited when I found this recipe for two reasons: because I often make and freeze meatballs and meatloaves, and because I used to have a very similar recipe, one I made regularly several decades ago. Recently I have been trying to remember it – without success. So I made this recipe with considerable enthusiasm. In fact, I was SO confident about making it that I doubled the quantity, so that I now have a wonderful supply of this beautiful mushroom sauce ready to package in individual freezer bags, as soon as it cools down. I have sampled some: a beautiful blend of flavours! I made the sauce almost exactly to the recipe, making just a few small adjustments to meet my own taste preferences. I halved the quantity of Worcestershire sauce and salt, added 4 cloves of chopped garlic, used low fat milk and I used wine. This is a fantastic recipe! The instructions are clear. It’s a breeze to make. The smells while it’s cooking are sensational. And that it can be frozen a huge extra plus. Thank you so much, ~*Pamela*~in Winnipeg, for a recipe that I know I will be making again and again whenever the supply in the freezer needs topping up. And whenever mushrooms at the greengrocers are looking irresistible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mushroom Sauce for Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (895 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.8
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    50%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 870.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes