18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Both times I made this I used one big onion, more mushrooms, and brown rice. I have been living without a meausuring cup, so I estimated all the ingredients. But, what a great recipe base it was for me! It tasted so full of flavor and the people I made it for where saying, "Que rico!" in Spanish (I'm in Spain)which is one of the best food compliments one can get. Thank you; this is a fun, easy, cost effective recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Bean April 04, 2003

This is a GREAT tasting Risotto and so easy to make!! Everyone loved it and I will be making it again. I didn't have quite enough chicken stock so I added some vegetable stock to it. Wonderful flavor. Thanks Good Cook for sharing, I look forward to trying some of your other recipes. :-)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 18, 2003

This sounds delicious, but would appreciate not having to convert amounts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne B. October 08, 2013

Simple and delicious! I used brown rice and it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Criseyde'sMom October 28, 2009

We LOVED this recipe. I chopped the mushrooms in the food processor, which when I did it thought it came out too mushy chopped, but it turned out great! (I used a big package of portabellas). Sauteed them with the onion in butter. Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCPK June 10, 2009

This is a nice basic recipe for mushroom risotto. I did not find the risotto bland, but I did make a few small changes which I think helped. First, I sauted 1 large onion and the mushrooms in a little butter for extra flavor. I then replaced 1 cup of stock with a nice white wine. I did end up adding a little over five cups of liquid total. I am not sure how much liquid is in a liter. Finally, I seasoned with fresh pepper, salt and fresh tarragon. Our risotto was creamy, full of flavor and very tasty. I can see us adjusting the recipe to easily include other flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity October 22, 2008

Great recipe. I found it a little bland for my taste, so I tooke a couple of spoonfuls out and added some dried ground garlic, dried garlic & parsley in the first trial, and also dried ground chilli flakes and a touch of turmeric on the 2nd trial. Definitely better for me with the added flavouring, but each to their own. Also, I didn't have any parmesan, so I grated some strong white cheddar and it just topped it off nicely! Well done on a very easy basic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoob April 05, 2008

This was good. I used about 10 oz. of mushrooms, and reduced-fat parmesan. It took awhile and the rice was firm, as expected. It made a lot- my son and his girlfriend each had seconds and there was still plenty left. The only complaint I have about the recipe is that it would have been helpful to have some guideline about the amount of oil. I used about 2 tbsp. of olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 February 13, 2008

This was great! The taste was wonderful and it was a very filling meal. It wasn't too difficult to make either, even though I had to pay attention to it more than a lot of dishes I normally make. I put in a bit more mushrooms because I like mushrooms and I thought I would go ahead and use all them I had bought. I will definitely make this again in future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl January 21, 2008

Loved the flavor on this though my rice was still a little crunchy and I think I may have needed a tad more stock. I only used 1/2 cup cheese and we thought it was plenty cheesy. For our taste, a full cup would have been too much. I also just used a little olive oil spray and the stock was fat free so this was relatively heathy. I ate mine as is, but my husband and the kids added some cooked chicken breast. So this was plenty versatile. Thanks for a yummy part of dinner tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 01, 2008
Mushroom Risotto