Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mushroom Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mushroom Risotto

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2009

      I used more mushrooms, to use up 2# I got at Costco, and more chicken stock. 28 oz store bought and some leftovers from Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option), (about 5 cups stock) Not my first time making risotto so I made sure to heat extra broth, and glad I did. Drizzled with truffle oil. Thank you for posting PaulaG.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe, fairly standard risotto- I make a version of this at least once a fortnight. I do use at least 1/2 cup dry white wine, and add a little lemon juice and a knob of butter just before serving to bring out the richness and add some zing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This was my first time making risotto and it was delicious! The instructions were wonderful! I cooked this with Classic Entrecote Bordelaise - Steak in Red Wine With Shallots and my husband said the meal was restaurant quality and I should make sure I write everything down exactly how I made it so I could repeat it. (huge compliment from him)! Saffron was $17 at my grocery store so I opted to omit that though I'm sure it's a wonderful addition! I added 1 tbsp of Herb Ox Chicken Bouillon to 3 cups of water for the chicken broth. We also didn't top with the parmesan cheese since we thought it tasted perfect already. Thank you for an absolutely delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      This was my first time making risotto and this recipe was easy and delicious! I used a mix of mushrooms (oyster, shiitake, and baby bells) and no saffron, because I didn't have any. Would definitely make again! Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I hate to be the lone dissenter, but I thought this was good, just not fantastic. I think all the prior 5-star reviews raised my expectations too high. I made this exactly as stated, and yet I found it not as bursting with mushroom flavor as I wanted and not as creamy. I think next time I will add more stock (or some wine). But, yes, I will be making this again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Wonderful! I made this exactly as written, including the saffron, but I used extra virgin olive oil and a mixture of shiitakes and cremini mushrooms. I love risottos, even tho they require alot of babysitting, lol. Thanks Paula for an excellent risotto recipe that we will enjoy again. I made this with Chicken Breasts With Cheese and Prosciutto and Roasted Asparagus with Brown Butter and Pecorino and it's the best meal I've had during the tour to-date. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Yum! I used turkey stock and added in some green onions. My DH and I enjoyed it! Thank you Paula! Made for the Risotto challenge for ZWT4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Wow! This is so good. We all loved it. It did take me a bit longer than 30 minutes to get the rice soft but that is likely my stove top. I think we will be fighting over the leftovers tomorrow! This was made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      After when all the liquid was absorbed, I tasted the rice and I felt that it needed more cooking and more liquid. So I added another cup of chicken stock. I used the saffron. It's delicious. Thanks Paula. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Not only was this recipe easy, it was also delicious. Made for the ZWT4 risotto challenge. Thanks for posting a great one, Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I upped this to 6 serves to serve 3 of us for a main and there was just a little left over. The DM, DS and myself thoroughly enjoyed with a tossed mixed salad on the side. Thank you PaulaG for a great easy recipe (my first time at cooking risotto). Made as a recipenapp for Recipe Swap #15 - April 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Well, just like reviewer Pineapple, I ended up having to make this without the saffron. I'm all out and neither my grocery store nor my specialty foods store had any in stock. However, I liked this very much without the saffron, and as I LOVE saffron, I know it will be at least as good and maybe even better when I can make it again and include it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Excellent risotto - we loved it! I followed the directions except for adding the saffron. I'll for sure use this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I just devoured this. I had this for dinner and nothing else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      To me, this is the perfect risotto... flavorful, a bit al dente yet creamy, and fairly easy to make. I followed the instructions to the letter and my risotto was cooked exactly the way I like it. My only change was a wee pinch of cayenne to suit my honey's taste buds. I will use this recipe as the template for all my future risottos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mushroom Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.5
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    31%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 303.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes