14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While i didn't actually eat any of these (fungus isn't my friend and i'm lactose intolerant), i did make them for a party. They were the first gone!! Everyone kept coming up to me asking if there were any more. The guests loved them!! Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover June 18, 2008

Wow, can't believe I haven't reviewed this until now. I had these first at YOUR house years ago when we visited and went to Alison's engagement party. You served these the first night as an app before we grilled dinner. They are perfection. Hot, tangy, bubbling little pockets of chewiness. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com April 11, 2008

I did a test run of this recipe to see if I could use it for get together I'm having at my house. My requirements were: 1) It tastes good 2) It's easy to put together and / or can be made ahead of time 3) It cooks quickly This recipe passed on all counts. I'm definatley making this for the party. The only change I'm going to make is to chop up the mushrooms & reduce the size of each bundle a little because I'll have a few appetizers and these were a little big. I wouldn't change anything else because these are great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmarie78 January 08, 2008

Enjoyed these, took to a potluck. 3 ingredients plus egg wash, wow, I'm all for simplicity. Have to practice a little more making them, though; mine weren't the prettiest items on the buffet table, but definitely one of the tastiest. Used double layers of phyllo and cut into about 9 sections each time. Quit at 25 as that's all my baking tray could hold. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues December 07, 2008

Amazingly flavorful! I used chopped baby bella mushrooms and added finely chopped walnuts and even as I'm writing down this review it makes my mouth water :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dinu November 23, 2008

This is definitely an elegant appetizer....we loved these. We actually used this as a main course because I wanted to try them so bad and then it was too much for just DH and I...so we just had three a piece for our main meal....however, I think I made them twice the size the recipe called for. I used baby bella mushrooms and cut one of the pastry sheets into nine squares. I did chop the mushrooms after I had a hard time getting the pastry to wrap around the mushroom. Thanks so much for posting these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa August 24, 2008

These we sooo good; I never had gorgonzola cheese before and now I cannot stop eating it. The only problem I had was getting the pastry to fit over the mushrooms, but I think I tried before it was completely thawed. Will make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 28, 2008

I've made these twice in the last couple of months. They are yummy. Very rich. I used whole sheets of phyllo dough, cut in half - lengthwise. Then I roll the stuffed mushrooms in the pastry (like rolls of coins) and folded the ends under. I am not very good with making things pretty. But they tasted great. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 December 03, 2007

These were good and easy but super rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamiammi November 25, 2007

These were wonderful. I'm not sure what I did differently or if my mushrooms were just too big but my puff pastry was only enough for 18 mushrooms and that was totally by stretching around the mushroom. If I were to cut the dough into 36 squares it wouldn't of made it around the smallest mushroom I had. But they were delicious none the less. Thanks so much for posting. ChefRaylene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefRaylene May 11, 2007
Mushroom 'n Gorgonzola Bundles