Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mushroom Grilled Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mushroom Grilled Cheese

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2009

      This is an obvious *delish* treat here. We needed something quick, delicious and satisfying. Oh, and let me tell you this fits the bill! I followed exactly, using some gouda, (we are on a gouda swing right now) the button mushrooms (I sliced a bit thicker as these are so yummy) and was able to prepare these, and on the table before the cows even noticed I was gone. Great with many thanks! Yum, yum!! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* July 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Yum! Made this for a quick and light dinner. I used Monetary Jack cheese and when I toasted / grilled the bread I put it back in the same pan and omitted the olive oil. I missed that this said "Fresh" and NOT "Dried" Thyme; I used the amount stated for dried thyme and this still came out great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Simplicity at its best. I use Cremini mushrooms and havarti cheese. I cut the recipe down to make one sandwich and ended up making more for a second LOL This will be one of our favorite sandwichs Thanks for sharing Boomette Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      We had these for lunch yesterday. I used swiss cheese and boy what great sandwiches. I just wish I had made more! Thanks for a great new lunchtime dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      My tastebuds are doing a happy dance because I have found a grown up version of a childhood favorite. I used chives and smoked gouda on sourdough, and it turned out fantastic! Oh so yummy! Thanks for a tasty lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      OMG!! This was SOOO Good!!!! I love thyme with mushrooms and this was great!!! I used Sourdough bread, and swiss cheese but didn't have dijon mustard. Will try with Dijon next time!!! Thanks SOOO Much for posting!!! I will make this often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This was a great lunch. We used slices of french bread, and did swiss on one sandwich and muenster on another. Both were yummy. I liked the taste of the thyme with mushrooms; I'd have never thought of seasoning mushrooms with thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This is so good. I used smoked gouda cheese and left out the mustard. Real comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious. I did sliced creminis instead of white mushrooms, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I are vegetarians and we can't help but want this at least once a week if not more. So very easy and delightful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Delicious!! We loved this very tasty grilled cheese sandwich. We really liked the addition of the Dijon mustard and fresh thyme. I sauteed some garlic and onions with the mushrooms and thyme for some added flavor. My daughter wanted Swiss cheese on her sandwich, I used smoked gouda on mine and they were both fabulous. I served this on very "large" slices of sourdough bread, so I only got 2 sandwiches out of the recipe. Thanks Boomette for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for Tic-Tac-Toe Week #1*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Delish! I really like mustard, but next time I think I'll stick to just cheese and mushrooms. DH and I both enjoyed these for lunch today. Made for "everyday's a holiday tag game".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      You MUST try this! My heavens this is like a gourmet grilled cheese! After seeing Blue Moon's review I knew I had to try this. Simplicity at it's best yet a flavor that is very grown up and distinguished! Garlic is the only thing I can possibly think of that would make this even more amazing. Thinly slicing the mushrooms is ideal as they cook very quickly and brown wonderfully. I am trying hard to watch my fat intake so I cut out the butter and oil here all together and just used enough butter flavor cooking spray to allow the mushrooms to brown and the bread to toast. I just read that mushrooms are a carb friendly food that fills you up and makes your tummy think you are more full than you really are. Whatever! One sandwich was a perfect lunch! I used some provolone cheese as that is all I had and the stores here have yet to recover from Ike. Lots of freshly ground pepper bc I love it and just a touch of sea salt. I did not have fresh thyme though that would be lovely here. Dried worked very well and provided a great touch that went well with the mushrooms. I used a whole grain creole mustard (Zatarains) which was another amazing layer of flavor. I just barely spread some on the insides of the bread- next time I will use more! mmm! Boomette, this sandwich takes America's favorite grilled cheese and gives it a very French flair! Divine! I only wish I had a better bread to use but again, our groceries are doing their utmost to provide what they can and bread selection was very limited. A crusty sourdough would be amazing here! Thank you so much for sharing a superb recipe! *Made for Beverage Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      If you like the sound of the ingredients here, this is a MUST-TRY recipe. We loved it! I added both onion and garlic to the mushrooms in step two, basically because that's a combination we love, but I otherwise made these exactly to the recipe. Thank you for sharing a wonderfully flavoursome recipe, Boomette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Tasty! I added onions to the mushrooms...but that's just because I like the combination. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I made this sandwich for lunch and I have to be honest and say I was surprised how good it was! Delicious and really a step ahead of the good ole grilled cheese. You gotta try it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      We enjoyed these so much. The flavors were just perfect. I used harvarti cheese which is what Sis had and the chives instead of the thyme. What a wonder combination. Thanks Boometti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I have made this using Brie as the cheese rind and all. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Mmmmmushrooms and cheese...my favorite things! I used sourdough bread and gouda in the panini maker; the flavors were wonderful. I loved the thyme, an herb I rarely use and it goes so well with the mushrooms. Next time I'll probably choose a "meltier" cheese - brie would be delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Yummmm, it's a real upgrade for the steadgast grilled cheese! I used sourdough bread and harvarti cheese. I can't say anything that hasn't already been said. Try it and see for yourself *wink*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Boomie this was wonderful. Such flavour. I made this for lunch today, actually wished I would have made myself two...that's how good this is. (I never eat two) I followed your instructions but used what I had in the house. I enjoyed the addition of the fresh thyme with the mushrooms. I used provolone cheese and portabella mushrooms and russian mustard. Thanks so much for sharing this versatile dish, I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mushroom Grilled Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.0
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    34%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 309.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    raclette cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes