58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Happy to give a rave review to this ultra-delicious grilled sandwich. I used smoked gouda cheese. I highly recommend using fresh thyme over dried. The flavor was sublte and delicate. I think dried thyme would be too strong. Perfect on a cool fall evening. Thanks Boomette.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 17, 2010

Oooh, these are good! I loved the thyme. I did use mustard, but I would recommend just using a little so the other flavors aren't overpowered. A little more work than ordinary grilled cheese, but well worth it! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl February 09, 2011

This is so good. I used gouda and regular white bread. I loved the thyme and mustard. It made for a great lunch. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J August 30, 2010

I made this today for lunch and it was pretty good. I used gouda cheese, white button mushrooms and dijon mustard. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dried. It's a good adult grilled cheese sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme August 10, 2010

I used swiss cheese, super thin whole wheat hamburger bun, and brown button mushrooms (also I didn't use the fresh thyme since I had none) and it came out great! It was really tasty and super easy to make. I'll definitely make this whenever I need a fast and easy meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenbeth February 22, 2010

Mmmmmm - delicious! I used Swiss and whole grain bread and didn't add the mustard. Great upscale version of a grilled cheese sandwich - thanks for posting the recipe! Made for the Top Favorites of 2009 event

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 12, 2010

Great sandwich! I used a tiny bit of lemon-pepper and garlic powder on my mushrooms when I fried them up. This is so tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shrimplover December 07, 2009

Was looking for something new to make and stumbled on to this.. It was delish! I didn't use the mustard since I didnt have any, but still was an awesome sandwich with tons of flavor! I also added a small clove of garlic to the mushrooms when I sauteed them, it just adds another layer of flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassi C. February 06, 2014

Really tasty and satisfying grilled sandwiches. We love mushrooms and this is a nice addition to our sandwich line-up. We used swiss cheese and left off the dijon mustard. The only change I would make next time is to lessen the amount of thyme; otherwise, I would make them just as we did. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag, June 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry June 25, 2012

I used thick crusty bread, smoked gouda and fresh thyme. It was insanley good! Even my 8 year old loved it! I don't usually like mustard but I hate rating something if I change the recipe. I lightly dusted one side with grey poupon and I don't think it would have been as good without that little extra flavor. Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollie6001 October 11, 2011
Mushroom Grilled Cheese