Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mushroom Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mushroom Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2003

      Absolutely fantastic! Better than expected! I was only serving two and used one large breast, however I kept the sauce quantities much the same as I like a lot of sauce. I left out the green onions. Also used 200ml chicken stock instead of broth(don't know if there is a difference),and served over rice with steamed broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      I just loved this recipe! The chicken was tender and moist and the sauce was delicious! I made exactly as directed and served over rice. Everyone cleaned their plate and asked for seconds! I will be serving this one again! Thanks for sharing, ~Pixie~!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      "Num-Nums!" as my dad used to say. I made it according to your recipe, and made 5 breasts because it's always iffy about seconds here. I loved the sauce, and kept piling it on my chicken. We had it with long-grain and wild rice, and broccoli and cauliflower.Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I was not a big fan of this dish. I thought the gravy had a bit of a strange taste and that the whole dish was far too salty (even when I used low sodium soy sauce). However, my boyfriend liked it so maybe it was just a matter of preference. I won't make it again though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This was an amazing recipe. DH actually grinned through the whole thing and insisted that I make it again in the future. The only thing I changed was to use two big chicken breasts instead of 4. It made extra gravy, but that was just fine with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      We enjoyed this, and it was easy. (Not counting the vote of my son who hates mushrooms.) I had a little trouble with the sauce. For some reason, it was fine when it was finished, but it thinned back out as we ate. Weird. Maybe I should have served this with a starch to sop it up. I did serve it with Acadia's Bell Pepper Onion Stir Fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      SUPER-- easy to do, but looks and tastes like something you'd order at a restaurant. I didn't use the green onions (didn't have any), but sprinkled in about a 1/4 t onion powder. Served over rice. Good stuff! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      The recipe was excellent, very succulent! My hubby even loved it, as he's a complainer when it comes to trying new dishes! I used chicken wings, flour instead of corn starch, chicken stock instead of broth, mushroom with juices that come in a bottle or can instead of white buttons, added fresh garlic, and being from new orleans I used zatarain season instead of salt and pepper. It was delicious! I will definitely make it again! In New Orleans this is considered smothered chicken with a kick of mushrooms and green onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Pixie, you proved that great recipes are not difficult. Through necessity we made a some changes -- we used drums sticks (skinned) and chicken stock. Super good and super easy. Next time we make this (for DW's mother) we will add a clove of crushed garlic and, maybe, a little ginger. Many thanks to you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Loved the flavor! Easy to make! I had all ingredients on hand (which never happens!)! It's a South Beach diet recipe, Phase 2 or 3, and is great on Brown Rice or Whole Wheat Pasta! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      DH doesn't like soya sauce on its own, and I am not a big fan of green onion, but this was amazing! I might use a reduced sodium chicken broth next time...It was perfect with the normal broth, but less sodium is always good! Cut our chicken in small pieces so there would be more surface cover for the gravy. Will be putting this in our favorites list for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was very easy and tasty. I cut the chicken into bite-size pieces and made the gravy all in the same pan rather than doing it separately, and it came out just fine. I did have to add more water because the sauce was VERY thick...I don't know if that's because I had the wrong size can of broth (since no size is listed) or because there really was too much cornstarch, but it worked out OK in the end. Served over brown rice with steamed brussels sprouts on the side, and there were no leftovers between three of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

    • on May 29, 2007

      Very Good and quick to prepare!! Flavorful silky mushroom sauce...served with brown rice and steamed broccoli! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This was pretty good. I think I would use less corn starch next time though because it was kind of goopy... It didn't affect the taste. It was an all in the head type of thing. Very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Very nice dish. Browned the chicken with the mushrooms though for extra flavor and appearance. Used white cooking wine instead of water. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      This was great. I was a bit apprehensive about using soy sauce, but it turned out so well. I didn't have any white button mushrooms on hand so sliced up two very large portabella caps. They turned out really nicely. They added alot of mushroom flavor to the gravy. Hubby was impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      This is the first dish in a long time where my SO could not get enough. 3 helpings to be exact with a request to make it as one of the regulars. Thanks a lot, very good... and simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      The gravy was very good. I would recommend reducing the amount of green onions, though. They were a bit much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Excellent!! Very flavorful without being overpowering. I served it over brown rice. I will be making this again since. It diet friendly too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mushroom Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    17%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1352.7 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes