10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for the tag game "Cooking Tag Mania" and I am so glad I did. I cut the recipe in half used French bread and we gobbled this down. Great appetizer for the Dodgers baseball game or really any time. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 18, 2013

I made half a recipe but with 4 slices of French bread. This is a great side dish or appetizer. Do try this for a party or just a snack.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 13, 2009

This is excellent! I had to use a French baguette since that's all my store had. I just cut it in thin slices so mine were smaller but still delicious! This sauce is just wonderful and I could have eaten it all by itself! My sauce wasn't thickened after 15 minutes so turned up to medium-high heat and it thickened nicely in no time. Thanks for posting this. A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 08, 2008

This was a delicious recipe! For some reason my sauce didn't thicken up as I expected, but it was very tasty and received rave reviews anyways.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieBaby January 03, 2007

I made this as one of my Christmas Eve appetizers and everyone went home with the recipe, they were SO good! The only change I made was to serve them on thinly sliced baguette, drizzled with olive oil and toasted. Each was about two bites sized and the mushroom topping was enough for 24 of them. I also used a whole lot more than 4 Tbl. of swiss cheese, because around here there's no such thing as too much cheese (I used Emmenthaler). I also used nutmeg instead of mace, as that's what I had. This is something I can envision making for myself for supper, as does my vegetarian daughter. Thanks for such a scrumptious recipe, Baby Kato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina December 26, 2006

Excellent and very filling. I served this with pork tenderloin and could only eat about a half of one. Very very rich. I made as directed with only a few changes. I halved the recipe and used half & half instead of the cream and added some crushed red pepper flakes (personal preference) I left out the mace because I didn't know what that was and couldn't find any at the store. Thanks BK. You have another winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 10, 2006

OMG is this ever good! I can see myself using the mushroom mixture for other recipes, the only change I made was I increased the garlic to 2 tablespoons and used yellow onions in place of the shallots as I did not have any handy! This mixture would be great served on small crostini as an appetizer! I can't wait to make this again my DH and DS loved this for an evening snack! thanks Baby K!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 09, 2006

We absolutely loved this! I can't wait to share it with company. I used cremini and white button mushrooms. I can see using a baguette and serving it as canapes.(You would have to let the sauce reduce a little longer.)As it was, it made a perfect meal for me. This will be repeated often in my house.Love, love, love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog November 06, 2006

This was really delicious! Used left over hot dog buns and fat free half and half. Also a mixture of cremini and white button mushrooms. A nice vegetarian entree with salad and wine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel August 25, 2006

Wow! This is soooo good. Now I understand the ? in the title. I served this with dinner last night, expecting it to be like a bruschetta. It was, but a heavy duty one. We ended up using knives and forks, because it is also like a casserole. My family claimed that this and the rest of our zaar dinner last night was the best from zaar yet. Thanks Baby Kato, this is a real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme July 25, 2006
Mushroom Casserole?