22 Reviews

This soup was delicious. i only made a couple changes. I used one can of beef broth, one can of chicken broth and 2 cans of vegetable broth. I also used salted butter since thats what i had on hand. I sliced some shitake and baby portebellos too to add to the mix, they were a delicious addition. I am giving it 5 stars and would give it more if i could because it was my 11 and 7 year old that ate ALL of the soup! I had a bowl before i napped before my 3rd shift job, and when i awoke, looking forward to bringing a bowl to work with me, it was GONE!! DH told me that they each had 2 helpings for dinner, and the kids begged for more later till they finished it! Needless to say, im on my way to the store after writing this review, to get some more mushrooms to make a double recipe for tonights dinner :) oh, let me add that i also left out the potato

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crmsonbuterfly January 25, 2011

This is one of those soups that shouldn't be served until the next day, IMO. It was ok the first day but I had my doubts about making it again because it takes so long to cut up all the vegs. But I decided it was all well worth it when I had a bowl the next day. Yum! I did add about 1/4 cup of cream to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra November 04, 2007

This is a very soul-soothing delicious soup. We are just starting to get bitter cold weather here and I am so glad I had this soup to enjoy. I used a combo of baby bellas and button mushrooms. I made no alterations and the flavor and smell were excellent. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' December 20, 2004

I made this as part of the Comfort Food Cook-a-thon and I'm so glad I did! My boyfriend decided this is his new favorite soup (and I make a lot of soups) and ate a bowl of it with breakfast, lunch and dinner until it was gone. I made it a week (or more) ago and he's been bothering me every day to make more! I dodn't have any bay leaves, so I used some thyme and other spices to taste. I used a mix of white button and crimini (these are the same thing as baby portobello, by the way, for those who don't know). I also used one small-medium unpeeled russet potato. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. This tastes completely gormet and really isn't much work, less slicing all the mushrooms. I know I'll be making this again (by BF demands it!) Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 20, 2003

I have put this soup into my new healthy menu rotation. It is delicious. I used beef broth cubes and cut the amount by 50% to help reduce the sodium level. Thank you for sharing this healthful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dadsranch2005 April 05, 2012

I liked this and it was better the 2nd day. I'm only giving 3 stars because no one else in the family would eat it, even the mushroom lovers. If I were to make this again, I would chop all the mushrooms (instead of the slicing) and double the barley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zee January 23, 2011

Very good. I used olive oil instead of butter, and added about a tsp dried thyme, little bit of rosemary, and finished it with a generous dollop of chardonnay. The next day, the flavor had become rich and full bodied. Thanks for posting. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana_re2004 January 03, 2010

I made this soup yesterday, with adjusted menu for 4 people - DH dislikes too much barley :>( doesn't know what's good for him! I have to say I wasn't overly impressed with the initial flavour, so added some good frozen(then defrosted) chicken stock to it. Today I reheated it and felt the flavour had much improved. I really enjoyed it -- DH said- less barley and more potato -- I disagree as I love barley. I don't know that it will be a regular on our soup menu, but I'll will have it again - for me!!! Thank you BoxO'Wine because I love soup and it's always good to have a go at something different from the norm :>)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halfmoon June 24, 2009

a lovely, nourishing soup. I only used half the butter, and just a little oil to saute the veggies. I added a touch of sherry towards the end to enhance the nutty flavor of the different mushrooms I used. The family loved this soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q May 20, 2009
Mushroom Barley Soup