14 Reviews

This is one of the best tuna casseroles I've made! I left out the onion (personal pref) and used the optional red pepper and cheddar (on top). I was trying to use stuff from the pantry so I used some penne pasta that I had, plus a handful of noodles. This is so creamy and flavorful, and so quick to make from ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks for posting this great recipe! Made for the Best of 2008 event

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 20, 2009

My husband and I both loved this casserole! I made tuna casserole once in a blue moon, but may make it more now! Thanks for a delicious dish! Made for PRMR game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 02, 2008

I really enjoyed this. The mayonnaise and cream cheese gave it a really tasty creamy flavour without going over the top. I have lots left over in the fridge for lunch today!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy July 16, 2008

We all loved this tuna casserole. This morning we were fighting over who got to take the leftovers for lunch today. I used all the ingredients except I didn't have the cream cheese when it finally came to making it so I just used an extra cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese. I added some garlic powder for personal taste. The topping of cheese with bread crumbs really added a wonderful finish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn April 27, 2011

My son just went back for seconds....YUM! I love that this casserole does not use any canned soups. This is the tuna casserole recipe that I will use from now on! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly #5 November 10, 2008

My new tuna casserole recipe! I added green pepper to the red, but other wise followed the recipe (well ok, I used more cheese than called for, but there's no such thing as too much cheese!). You got a really good review from DH "it's very good". Trust me, that's really good as his usual reviews are "it's good". LOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 June 06, 2008

I am on record as having a life-long fondness for the tuna casserole genre & Murray is my new hero. I made it exactly as written, had only 1-2 oz cheddar cheese I put in the tuna mix & seasoned my plain breadcrumbs w/a mix of seasoning salt, black pepper, paprika, parsley + chives. It was creamy w/o being overly so & taste perfect. I esp like the texture & flavor from the use of raw onion, celery & bell pepper. I served it w/the 1st watermelon of the season + coleslaw for a down-home comfort meal at its best. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 03, 2008

Nice, I used the extra wide "no yolks" egg noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear September 11, 2011

This was tasty but we found it to be a little dry. My casserole didn't end up looking like the photos however, so I don't know if it was that I used rotini? We skipped the red pepper and I think I would saute the celery and onion a bit next time. I will have to try this again! Made for PRMR. Thanks 2Bleu! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif November 09, 2009

Great comfort food all around. And..on a cool late summer night, this was perfect. Followed your ingredients exactly except for the redpepper. I did opt to use the shredded cheddar on top with the breadcrumbs. This is a rich and creamy meal that doesn't require a side other than a dinner roll or some garlic bread. Made for TYM Tag.~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 28, 2009
Murray's Tuna Casserole