32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fixed this after church this noon. Quick, easy and very rich. I believe what I will try next time is to put the cheese and crushed croutons on the last ten minutes of cooking. Today when I took off the cover the cheese had melted and ran off the side. I used only 1/3 cup of the crushed croutons do you think that would of made the difference on the cheese? Thank you I will fix this again!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 19, 2002

woohoo...excellent recipe. I used 2 chicken breast halves and cut them so I had 4 pieces. put a little salt and pepper on each piece and 1 full slice of deli swiss cheese folded in half on each breast. did not decrease other ingredients. Prepared rice using chicken broth, saffron, and chopped parsley. Used store bought caesar salad croutons, whirled in the blender to crush. Had steamed broccoli as a veggie. Wonderful dinner. Enjoyed it tremendously and will make again. Thanks mysterygirl for a keeper recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine February 25, 2003

I made this for dinner a few nights ago...all I can say is DEE-LISH!! I used cream of chicken with herb soup, and some garlic and onion croutons. It was rich and creamy and all of the flavors blended perfectly. I served it over rice...even my little girl enjoyed it. This one will definitely be made again in our house. Thanks Mysterygirl!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlabamaGirl71 January 27, 2003

MG, made this for a lunch dish for the whole family because it was for a serving for 8. If I were going to do it for 4 servings, I probably would go ahead and add the full can of soup. This dish was really wonderful. It was rich, but hey, we need that sometimes. I used a Chardoney for the wine, and I used a garlic flavored croutons. The dish was fantastic and everyone liked it. It was super easy to prepare and I definately will make it again. Thanks so much for posting this really good, and easy recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie December 16, 2002

This was delicious and so easy to prepare. The whole family loved it (highly unusual occurance!) I used a semi-sweet Muscat wine to balance the sharp cheese & garlic flavored croutons. Yummy!! This will be a recurring dish in our house.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean Loran May 02, 2002

I didn't really care for this, it reminded me of stuffing, and I'm not a stuffing person. My kids (5 and 2) however ate every bite I put on their plates, and my sweetie pie boyfriend has raved about it for 2 days! I added onions, garlic and spices of choice to the soup mixture. I will make it again because I have a hard time finding things the little ones will eat.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelle keithley November 06, 2002

I made this recipe a couple of times and my family and I really enjoyed it. Very simple to make, and has a great flavor.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica Livesay February 17, 2003

Very good! I made 3 small trays of this on one of my freezer cooking days. It was easy to prepare and even easier to heat up, although I think the cooking time could be shortened slightly. Glad I have 2 more in the freezer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 September 30, 2014

Easy to make and very tasty! I cut the chicken breasts in half since they were so large, and then I sprinkled them with salt and pepper. I added sauteed onion and garlic into soup mixture, plus an extra splash of white wine. Used gruyere cheese since that is what I had on hand (delicious). The croutons I used were garlic cheese flavor. Served over brown rice. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerlilypad July 27, 2014

i used one pkg of vegetarian chicken breasts and low-fat mushroom soup. i added some salt, pepper, garlic, and dill to the soup since the veggie chicken can be quite bland. i also had no swiss so i used mozza and real parmesan mixed. since one pkg is more like equivalent to two chicken breasts, this was of course a ton of sauce but i was expecting that. my only complaint was i was hoping the croutons would form a crunchy top crust and they didn't, they absorbed liquid and became a thickening agent. also, the butter was A LOT. next time i'll add a quarter that much, if any at all. otherwise, this was very tasty and i'll have to try this again with a second pkg and a bigger dish. this wasn't pretty at all but it's yummy over seasoned rice with a cucumber salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto July 10, 2010
Murder Mystery Chicken