Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Munchies (Lentils) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Munchies (Lentils)

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2012

      I made a whole one pound bag and seasoned them in 3 individual flavors. Yours was really good, but when I put in the flavors I like most these rock! I haven't eaten lentils very much but will be a big fan from now on. This is the best preparation method I have ever used and love the tender cripsyness of them. Thank you so much. I used oriental flavors on one pan and just a mix of stuff I love in the other like dill, dry mustard powder, garlic, onion and paprika. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

    • on June 28, 2008

      Of course, I'd rather eat a twinkie, but as far as healthy snacks go, these are pretty good. Excellent directions! I took the advice of another reviewer and used one tablespoon of olive oil and seasoned with kosher salt, garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne. I like the salty crunch and knowing that it's full of good nutrients. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I snack on these while I study. They're perfect, both tasty and filling. I changed the seasonings based upon what I had in my kitchen, using cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and a dash of cayenne pepper. Also used olive oil rather than canola, and reduced it to one tbsp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I made these several times already and they were exceptional. I ADDED some season salt and yeast flakes (from the Bulk Barn, here in Toronto). My eldest son called today and asked for the recipe, which reminded me to write and say thanks. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I toss these with olive oil spray to save lots of fat and calories, and cook them a tad longer for extra crispiness. Be careful, though...I overcooked one batch and they were almost too crispy to eat! Thanks for a fun snack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I wasn't really impressed with this. I made them according to the recipe and the texture just wasn't what I expected. I'm a "texture person." As indicated by the rating, I'm sure this is a great recipe. It just didn't do it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These were tasty! I didn't know what to expect, but I did like the results. These will taste like whatever you use to season, so get creative! I added some garlic powder and black pepper to mine. These weren't as crunchy as I was expecting, but I think that mine may have been a bit too moist to begin with. I'll experiment again! Great way to get in protein, fiber, iron, and folic acid!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Quick and easy, a great snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      "I love the concept of this recipe - a healthy, low fat, high fiber snack, but overall I wasn't really impressed." That was my thought the first time around, but I have since made this twice and that last time I finally found a version that works for me. Before, my beans weren't spicy enough because the seasons would just fall off of the dried beans once they were done. So I added lots of seasons while they were boiling, then I let them sit for a bit. I also found mine weren't drying out enough (high humidity where I live). So while they were out on the counter top I put a little portable heater in front of them and that solved the problem (please be careful to anyone who tries that). So in the end I had a very spicy, crunchy little snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Delicious!! Next time I make these (which will be soon!) I will probably use less oil, but they are so delicious. I used a bit more salt, and played a bit with the spices and will continue to do so! It's a good thing my roommate is out tonight, so I don't have to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      What a great healthy snack! I skipped the oil and use spray instead, ended up doubling the salt and baked it for about 15 minutes, stirring 3 times to prevent burning. My DH & I were babysitting 2 brothers, one who requires a gluten free diet. The boy who has the special diet didn't like these, but his brother, DH and I LOVED them! I can't wait to try other flavors and maybe toss with some butter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      These are great! Mine didn't get to the point of "crispy". Some are crunchy while some are still slightly chewy. The taste is good though. I used a few sprays of cooking spray instead of oil. That made them one point for a whole cup. :) Great snack for someone counting points! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      yumm, yumm, yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I love these munchies. You definitely need to watch these carefully and toss them often. They took a little longer than expected and the only tricky thing for me was to keep turning them over because some would get dark and burn while others would still be moist. Next time I'll try to dry the lentils as much as I possibly can (I think I was a little impatient the first time!) But I love this recipe and all of the spices make these just yummy! Thanks for introducing a new snack into my diet :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Great snack! I will definitely been sneaking these into the movie theatre. A longer cooking time is best (30-45 minutes) - if you want them crunchy. I also recommend substituting the coarse salt for cajun seasoning. It gives it a nice kick and already has salt in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Turned out very crunchy and tasty. Maybe even a little too crunchy and dry. I thought they were a lot of work for the end result. Doubt I'll make these again, but I can see why people like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      These were really good, but they did not come out crunchy even though they were brown around the edges. I used 1 tablespoon of olive oil, but it seemed like a lot. Maybe next time I'll try less or just use the spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      crunch galore! this is delicious - i can't believe how crunchy they are!! i'm not sure it makes 2 full cups but other than that they are brilliant. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I made this for myself and sent some to my mom and sisters. FABULOUS!!!! I didn't have the cayenne and used Rogan Josh instead of the curry powder and used EVOO instead of canola but oh my goodness is this delicious and good for you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Munchies (Lentils)

    Serving Size: 1 (1172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.8
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    29%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 601.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 29.4 g
    117%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites