Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mum's Special Spice Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mum's Special Spice Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2010

      This is a wonderfully different cake. I've never baked a cake that substitutes a simple syrup for fat and eggs, and I was intrigued. As other posters have mentioned, it is a dense cake, designed to hold a lot of fruit, but it's definitely not dry. The recipe calls for a full pound of raisins, but I substituted one cup of chopped dried cherries and one cup of dried blueberries, and that was plenty of fruit for us. Right out of the oven, the cake was good, but after sitting for three days, it was out of this world. I highly recommend this cake to anyone who isn't committed to light, fluffy cakes and is willing to give something a little different a whirl. You'll be pleasantly surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Have to say this is one very special spice cake! I was so good and waited the required 3 days and am so glad I did as this was so nicely spiced with an equally nice dense texture. I did make two very minor changes in that I used butter instead of Crisco and baked in a 9 x 13 pan instead of a bunt pan. DH has already put in his order for me to make again next year for his job. Thanks for the post and Happy Holidays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      FANTASTIC RECIPE !Loved it - so very easy to make & so moist & spicy !Made it this morning .Will be making it very very often .THANK YOU SO MUCH MICKEYDOWNUNDER for sharing this wonderful & easy recipe with us ! with warm regards Sheeba

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Mickeydownunder, now I won't have to guess why your Mum has had so many requests for this recipe over the years! This was love at first bite!!! The cake was dense and rich, and the raisins were plump and moist. YUMMY! The spice blend was just perfect, too. I used a 15 oz. box of raisins, but next time, I might use half raisins and half sultanas. (And there will be a next time!) I didn't change a thing, except that I used a 13" x 9" x 2" baking pan instead. I had to decrease the cooking time; 40 minutes was sufficient using the oblong pan. I sneaked a slice of the cake 17 hours after it baked. (I was too impatient to let it sit for three days!) If you like fruitcake, you HAVE to try this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This is a cake after my own heart - heavy, dense and fruity. All it needs now is to be wrapped in a rum (or brandy) soaked cheesecloth and it will be absolute heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      A REAL keeper ! The only change was to use golden raisins. I wrapped it in foil and just let it sit about 4 days -- DH could NOT believe there wasn't some exotic spice. What a simple recipe -- with winning flavor. Topped it off with some squirt whipped cream -- can't resist a few extra fat globules. Thanks, Mick -- will do at least one more for the holiday. PS -- liberally sprayed the bundt pan with Baker's Joy -- worked just fine !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Ok, I made this cake for a fundraiser where it earned a whooping $50! Of course, I had to make one for us and tonight we served it. Delicious! I plan to make another to take to a party next week, I'll let it age a little more. I omitted the allspice because I am allergic and the thought of having it in my house gives me the shivers, not good so I just substituted more cinnamon. Thanks Mickey, it is definitely SPECIAL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      A very unusual cake. The texture is very different from cakes made with eggs. I was surprised by the intensity of the spices. The cooking method is really different--boy, does it foam up! I think the flavor would have been improved with butter instead of shortening. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      What a cake! Just a great cake, tasty, dense, full of flavor. I did use a bundt pan and it came out perfect. My oven time was just slightly different, but all ovens can be different. I did let it set 3 days and the flavor was great! Gave some to my Dad and a couple of pieces to the Lady I cook for. Sweet, but just enough, spicy. That is my type of cake. Thx MDU, so glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Remember that 3 day suggested wait time? Try this one on for size. Bake it in the mini loaf pans (2 are the size of a standard loaf pan for me), bake it, wrap it. Then ship it off to your kids in school. The shipping time makes it so it HAS to sit! Plus whomever you're sending it to, gets a true treat!! This is dense cake, it reminds me of a banana bread almost. It's worth the work though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      5 stars!! This recipe reminds me of a Yum Yum Cake recipe my Aunt Lucy used to make. This is a delicious cake. I cut it the next day and it is superb! Couldn't resist waiting 3-4 days. It has the texture of a fruitcake and is a very dense cake. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      WOW! What a cake!! I let it set for 2 days (actually I literally had to hide it from DH and 3 daugters lol)and when I finally did cut into....MMMMM well worth the wait! This recipe is a def. keeper...I followed the recipe to the T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      What a great cake this is! I loved it...and I only just finished baking it 1.5 hrs ago! :) I know, I know, I'm supposed to leave it for a few days, but I just couldn't do it. I waited till it cooled and then sliced a small piece for myself....mmmmmm Yummy! I did change the recipe a little though. 1. I reduced the sugar by a little more than 1/4 cup. 2. I reduced the raisins by 1/2 a cup and added toasted sunflower seeds (Wanted to add walnuts but I had run out!) 3. Didnt have any Crisco so used butter. 4. Didnt have allspice so added a mixture of ground cardommom and cloves (1 teaspoon of the mixture) It turned out so great and so darn good!! I am looking forward to tomorrow when I can sneak another piece out of the oven. I think had I added all the sugar the recipe called for AND all the raisins, it would have been way too sweet for us, but thats just personal taste of course. The recipe is a keeper. Many thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      well, i sliced this for breakfast and it is so delicious. well worth the wait and a definite keeper. moist and spicy and easy to make. the only hard thing to do was wait the 3 days to eat it. spelling error 8/4/07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This is wonderful! I i halved the recipe, added walnuts, baked it in a loaf pan with parchment paper in the bottom for about 50 mins and it came out beautifully. On the 2nd day I tasted it. It was very good but more like a bread than a cake to me so I tried a slice toasted and buttered with my cuppa tea. I was in heaven! This is so easy to make and delicious, it will become a standard in my house. Thank you for post such a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Wow ! we loved it, i offered a special cake to my mum, and told her not to eat it before 2 days, she couldn't resist and ate a slice every day haha. That's a very good spice cake, Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I thought that the flavor was good, but it took so long and was so dense that I just didn't think it was worth the trouble. Several people enjoyed it, but I was not one of them. In the future, I will make an easier and lighter spice cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I am new to baking, thank you for this recipe. Easy to make, and it is really wonderful. I made it for my british fiance and his friends... everyone loved it. I made 2 9inch cakes cooked them for about 25-30 min. I wrapped them up for 4 days before I decorated them with fondant. The longer you leave it the better it is. So wrap it up and leave it.. you will be glad you waited.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Aaaah, the smell! While cooking, while cooling off, while baking and cooling off again. Agonizing to have to wait (we managed two days...) before tasting. But it was worth it. This reminds me of something we call "kruidkoek/ontbijtkoek" here in The Netherlands. Much richer in taste though (and nicer). Used 10oz raisins, 3oz prunes (diced) and 3oz citron (diced). Could not get hold of Crisco so I got decadent and used butter instead. The cake was done in 1 hour 17 minutes(couldn't keep myself from watching the minutes). Very, very good. Thank you for sharing and thank your Mum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Fantastic!!!!! What more can I say? I understand why your mom had so many requests for the recipe! Full of flavor and well worth the wait!(It really wasn't all that hard because I went away for the weekend but when i came home the first thing I did was have a bite!)Thank your mom for me mickeydownunder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mum's Special Spice Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 461.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    21%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 725.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.8 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 68.8 g
    275%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes