Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mum's Simple Economy Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mum's Simple Economy Scones

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

    • on May 10, 2009

      Thank you for posting this recipe the scones where lovely so esay to make , will be adding to my cook book thanks .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Quite good. =) Didn't rise as much as expected, and the dough got a lot tougher when rolling out for the second time (after cutting out the first scones). Will be making again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      WOW... Even without the whipped cream and jam, I am loving these. I can see that as a base recipe one can do amazing things. I replaced 2/3 cup of milk with cream to make them richer, and only had margerine - no butter. I was looking for a quick easy inexpensive comforty food recipe. This wins hands down. I look forward to trying the other suggestions. Oh, and neither floured or oiled pan, and sorry, but plopped into a 'silverstone' square cake tin. But again, shows the great diversity of using this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      this recipe is excellent! i had been looking for a quick way to make scones and this was my entry to making many many more kinds of scones then just normal ones :) i also have added 2/3 cup of cocoa to make chocolate scones. the batch i'm making now i've added some poppy seeds and lemon extract to make lemon poppy seed scones. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I've made scones this way for years..only diff is I add 1 Tbsp sugar and place on a floured tray not buttered. Don't over mix or knead and you'll end up with light and fluffy scones. Served with jam, whipped cream and a cup of tea..Mmm afternoon delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is the only way I've ever made scones, I've never heard of using eggs, although I have heard of lemonade scones which use cream. Anyway, it's so long since I've made them I had to double check the quantities - we're having hot buttered scones with our tomato soup for dinner. NB I don't grease my tray, just dust with a little flour to prevent them sticking. Oh, and don't forget to wrap them in a tea-towel when cooling if you're not having them warm :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      This is the same as my old recipe Syrah, although mine is half the quantity. I haven’t made them from scratch for ages, was making mixes during busier days. This is a great recipe and I was about to post for my kids to find on Zaar, couldn’t find one like it and yours was way at the end of the search. Thanks for posting Syrah. Glen. PS I was very surprised to find your recipe was the only one at Zaar without the sugar and eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      These are by far the best scones I've ever made! They were very easy, light, flaky, and delicious. We used to own a tearoom and were searching for a simple, delicious scone recipe. We tested hundreds but never quite found what we were looking for. This was it - I wish I had found this while we still had the tearoom! I made it in my Kenwood Major mixer, probably took less than 5 mins. I will be using this as my standard recipe from now on. Fantastic, thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      I chose this recipe as part of the Pick Your Chef game, and it's a winner. Simple and delicious. We had this with tons of whipped cream and strawberry jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      This is one of those instances where simplicity is a good thing. These scones were so simple to make and tasted great slathered with my favorite cherry jam! They did come out a little tough, so I'm not sure if it was something I did wrong, but they still tasted very good. I made my own self rising flour by using 2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 Tbsp baking powder, used soy milk in place of the milk, and used margarine instead of butter. I would definitely make these again to have with afternoon tea! Thanks for sharing your family recipe, Claire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mum's Simple Economy Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.5
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    25%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 337.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites