Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mummy Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mummy Dogs

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2012

      My kids loved them! The one year-old kept looking at the adults' (with the mustard eyes) and giggling :) What a great easy Halloween treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      These are so easy and fun! They've become a standard for a quick/fun meal around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Really good and cute for kids! We made these for Halloween - my kids (12&10) enjoyed making them and we all (also husband, grandparents, and friends) enjoyed them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I made these for my son's Halloween party at school, and will be making for dinner before we go trick-or-treating as well!! I cut the hotdogs in half to make them smaller.....too cute and tasty!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      The only mummy's curse with this recipe is deliciousness! This recipe went over very well at an office pot-luck I attended last week. Out of 48 mummydogs, zero were left at the end of the day! I used Texas Heritage Mesquite hotdogs and Pilsbury thin pizza crust. I cut the dogs in half to make short mummies, then cut the flat pizza dough into strips and wrapped them up. I basted the mummydogs in a light coat of Cattlemen's Sweet BBQ Sauce and cooked them up. Yummy! Now the office craves the return of this undead snack from the grave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • What a cute cute idea! Will be great for a quick dinner on Halloween night! Easy, cute, yummy, and fast. Need I say more! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Thanks for the great idea!!!! Having a party and this will just hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      We have been making these for years. In the past we used crescent dough, but have been using the breadstick dough for a couple years now. Try brushing the dough with a little melted butter and sprinkling on some garlic powder, oregano or other herbs. I think we actually bought a breadstick dough that had a spread with herbs to brush on the dough with it. Also, my kids really like the hot dogs you buy with the cheese already inside them. My kids, now 16 and 14 still insist on having these every Halloween. I use to feel that this was about as good a dinner I could get in them as they were so anxious to get out the door trick or treating. Great, fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      These are really good and cute! ** Note: I found these in a pillsbury magazine but instead they used crescent rolls dough and also wrapped a slice of american cheese before wrapping the dough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      The kids loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      How fun were THESE!! LOL My daughter (who I might add is 23 years old) loved these LOL I had a great time making them and only wished I had some even younger ones to give them to! Easy easy easy and what a great idea for Halloween! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      I had a blast making these. I used cracked pepper corns for my eyes. Plus I made slashes on my mummy's with ketchup and sprinkled some ground black pepper on them to give them a dusty old look to them. Thanks for a fun night in the kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Completely addicted to these! I use Hebrew Nationals (I think these have the best hot dog flavor) and like to make them for quick snacks or dinners. They reheat all right, too. Almost like a bagel dog, but better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Great fun! Mine turned out just fine, however I wasn't quite as patient as your photos suggested I should be, they weren't as wrapped as yours but they tasted wonderful and my teenagers thought they were great, and to be honest they didn't last long enough for anyone to criticise them. I couldn't get breadstick dough so used refrigerated shortcrust pastry. Thanks for a great simple recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      Made a couple dozen of these at a halloween party, without the eyes though since I didn't have time. It was simple and they were all gone halfway through the night! Thanks for a great idea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      These are so cute! We had fun making them with the kids tonight. I didn't have a chance to take a picture of all of them because everyone was ready to eat. Thanks for a neat idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      I made these with smokie links and garlic breadstick dough, they were really cute and pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I made these for my Halloween party - what a hit! They vanished almost as soon as the came out of the oven! I made a couple of changes, as I wanted little mummies, and little frankfurts were a bit fat, so I used Canned Cocktail Frankfurts! Being in Australia, pre-made bread dough is impossible to find, so I used puff pastry cut into thin strips. All my guests loved my mini-mummies (about 7cm long) - I will definitely use this again next year, and make MORE of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      These were good.. definitely better since it was Halloween!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Anyone who likes hot dogs will love these - they're adorable, easy to make, and tasty. They were a hit at our get-together last night. I used tofu dogs, and they were still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mummy Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.5
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    80%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 513.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    refrigerated breadstick dough

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes