14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my go-to recipe for bread now. Be careful not to add too much flour during the first mix though; you still want the dough to be a little bit sticky. After the rise knead it well by hand to stretch out the proteins. This will reduce the stickiness and will give you a great rise.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick September 20, 2011

Really great bread Paula. I woke at 5 this morning and decided it was a good time for coffee and bread making. The recipe came together beautifully with only about 2 tsps of added flour needed. I added some sunflower seeds to the dough mix also as I like seeds and grains in my breads. The aroma of it baking awoke DH and he got up too asking if we were having fresh made bread toasted for brekkie. How could I refuse? We both loved the bread (even though he picked the seeds out of his - I only added about 1/4 cup so they were easy for him to remove). Add my 5 stars to the collection. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 25, 2014

This goes straight into my best-of-the-best file! Excellent bread! Like all great breads, it takes time, but it is very easy to make. This is one of the highest rising breads I've ever made. I love the hearty whole wheat, sunflower seeds and oats. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 31, 2013

Three words . . . yummm . . . . yummm . . . . yummm!! This bread is really good! I've been looking for a good, hearty, multi-grain bread and this is it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjmp5671 February 06, 2011

LOVE this recipe!!! Stole it out of my sisters "golden binder" (grammawillow) and it is now a favourite in my household as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rprincess1 January 26, 2010

I have been trying whole grain breads for years looking for one that isn't horribly heavy and this is it! I used multi-grain flour instead of whole wheat, omitted the sunflower seed (my grand daughter doesn't like them) and added 3 tblsps of lecithin to enhance the dough. This is a tasty, wonderful hearty but not heavy bread and it goes into my "golden binder" of winning recipes. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramma Willow January 10, 2009

Great recipe! I made it without the sunflower seeds because I didn't have any available. It was awesome! My husband and kids love it. I love that it's so healthy and not full of sugar. I'm making more tomorrow! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RHC October 13, 2008

Finally a multigrain bread recipe that we love!!!!! Excellent recipe...have made three loaves the past two days (one for a neighbour)....every one turned out perfectly. Thanks Paula G. for a five star recipe. P.S. Only change I made was to add walnuts instead of sunflower seeds...tastes wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P.G. November 16, 2006

What a wonderful bread and one of my all-time favorites! I made in my food processor. It tasted just like I hoped. I used dark corn syrup in place of the molasses and omitted the sunflower seeds (will try those next time!). The bread sliced wonderfully and went great with our minestrone soup. I reached for it this morning and spread with peanut butter and honey. People who don't like the heaviness of a strong wheat would appreciate this light flavor. Thanks Paula, for another wonderful recipe. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado October 01, 2006

This is great WW bread! I used the ingredients listed only I increased the yeast to 1 tablespon plus 1 teaspoon, used 1-1/2 teaspoon regular white salt, and used multigrain WW bread flour, and baked mine in an 8 x 4-inch pan, as I do not bake breads in 9x5 pans, I find they rise better and much higher in a smaller pan, instead of spreading out width wise they increase in height, The bread baked out beautifully with a slight sweet molasses flavor. Thanks Paula!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 11, 2006
Multigrain Yeast Bread